Pranit Surya emerged champion in the open category with 4.5 points from five rounds in the Cyber Chess Academy’s rapid tournament featuring 26 rated players and many other unrated players.

B. Harsha Bharath Koti and P. Rama Krishna were placed second and third respectively.

WGM Dronavalli Harika’s coach N.V.S. Raju gave away the prizes while Cyber Academy’s founder and Andhra’s first IM Lanka Ravi assured that many tournaments would be conducted during the summer holidays in different age groups besides giving intensive training for young talent.

Final placings: Open category: 1. Pranit Surya, 2. B. Harsha, 3. P. Rama Krishna, 4. Karthik, 5. S. Khan.

Women: 1. K. Ankitha Goud, 2. M. Manisha Chowdary.

Keywords: ChessCyber Chess Academy

More In: Hyderabad | Sport