The general body of the Zilla Parishad unanimously passed a resolution demanding the Government of India to table the Bill relating to the formation of Telangana state, in its meeting held here on Sunday.

The chairman K. Venkatramana Reddy presided over the meeting which was attended among others by the Minister for Medical Education P. Sudarshan Reddy, MLAs, MLCs, ZP vice-chairman Taher Bin Hamdan, ZPTC members, MPP presidents and other ex-officio members.

While moving the resolution the Telugu Desam Party member K. Dinesh urged the chairman to ensure its passage and submit the same to Justice Srikrishna Committee which was arriving in the district on April 2. The chairman immediately announced that the resolution was passed without any opposition.

Earlier, the members observed a two-minute silence in respect of Telangana student martyrs and the former Minister and former ZP chairman T. Bala Goud who passed away recently. The MLAs, MLCs and other members paid rich tributes to the late leader and martyrs in their addresses.

The meeting which was conducted after several months as it was postponed thrice, due to the agitation for Telangana witnessed pandemonium intermittently with charges and counter charges of the ruling and the Opposition members. At one stage the chairman and the TDP floor leader V. Mohan Reddy shouted aloud on each other.

After a prolonged discussion the general body cancelled the sanction of a proceeding given for works worth about Rs.1 crore in five mandals citing the reason that the works were allotted without introducing the related proposal in the ZP nor in its Standing Committee meetings.

There was a division on the issue in which even a couple of ruling party members raised hands in favour of the Opposition's demand.

Telangana activists held

About 90 pro-Telangana activists were arrested by the police when they tried to gain entry into the Zilla Parishad Conference Hall with an intention to thwart the proceedings, here on Sunday. They were shifted to different police stations and set free after execution of personal bonds later in the evening.

Some of the protestors who were taken to the Makloor police station staged a dharna inside it shouting slogans of Jai Telangana and Jai Jai Telangana. The arrested included the BJP, the CPI (ML)-New Democracy and the TRS workers and students.

Earlier there was a commotion on the ZP premises as the Telangana protagonists gheraoed Minister for Medical Education P. Sudarshan Reddy, chairman K. Venkatramana Reddy and the elected representatives demanding their resignations for Telangana. Police made tight security arrangement and enabled the Minister and other leaders to enter the conference hall standing guard to them.

Notwithstanding, mild tension prevailed with both the policemen and protesters pushing each other.

The meeting was called for after a long time and a couple of postponements due to the Telangana agitations.

The chairman took a firm stand to conduct it at any cost.

Even chappals were thrown from somewhere among the crowd of protesters. The proceedings were held smoothly after the arrest of protestors.

More In: Hyderabad