By all means, the annual C. Narsi Reddy memorial basketball tournament, organised by the RBVRR Sports Hostel, is one of the most eagerly awaited by the hoopsters in the city and for different reasons.

For the record, the last week edition was won by the Victory Playground which defeated Nizam Basketball Association 86-65 in the final after leading 54-44 at the break.

For the winners, Amruth Raj (23) and Ganesh (18) were the main scorers while for the losers Samson (18) and Gopi (12) put up a good show.

Sridhar Reddy, organising secretary, informed the select gathering that every effort would be made to conduct the event on a much bigger scale next year. “We are very grateful to the RBVRR Hostel, the technical officials of the AP Basketball Association and also the players who made it a point to compete in this annual event and ensure that it is a big success,” he said. It is also revealed that the Finance Minister Anam Ramnarayan Reddy, who was the chief guest for the valedictory function, assured the hosts that the government would not be found wanting in promoting sport.

“We will make conscious efforts to help all those individuals and agencies involved in promoting the sport in a selfless manner though the budget allocation for sports may not satisfy all of them,” he told the gathering, it is informed. “If we get any proposal worth considering for the promotion of sport, we will surely find a way out,” he told the RBVRR Hostel officials. Mr. Anam Ramnarayana Reddy and Konda Lakshmi Kanth Reddy, President of RBVRR, gave away the prizes.

The scores:

Victory Playground 86 (Amruth Raj 23, Ganesh 18) bt Nizam Basketball Association 65 (Samson 18, Gopi 12).