Five accused persons, who were allegedly involved in the attack on MIM floor leader Akbaruddin Owaisi, in May 2011, surrendered at the Nampally Criminal Court here on Thursday following the directions given earlier by the Supreme Court.

A few days ago, the apex court had cancelled the bail granted to Hussain Bin Omer Yafai, Abdullah Bin Yousuf Yafai, Awad Bin Yousuf Yafai, Esa Bin Younus Yafai and Saif Bin Hussain Yafai by the lower court. Following the court’s directions, the five accused surrendered in court, which remanded them to judicial custody till October 29.

The prime accused, Mohammed Pahelwan, along with two of his associates, was already in jail after the Supreme Court cancelled their bail petition. The Central Crime Station (CCS) officials, who are investigating the case, declared 14 persons as accused. Of them, eight were in the jail and five others were still on bail, an official said. Another accused, Ibrahim Younus Yafai, died after sustaining a bullet injury in the attack at Barkas.

More In: Hyderabad