The 2014 general elections will unfold a fierce competition between the Majlis- Ittehadul- Muslimeen (MIM) and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) at least in three city constituencies of Malakpet, Amberpet and Karwan.

With both the parties not leaving any chance to bag the seat one can expect fireworks here. The BJP, in fact, plumped for these three seats along with others for it sees chances of its victory here.

The Majlis first captured the Karwan seat in 1983 with Baqar Agha emerging victorious by defeating Nand Kishore of BJP. However in 1985 the BJP candidate Baddam Bal Reddy annexed this seat and retained it for three terms in 1985, 1989 and 1994.

However, in 1999 the Majlis could recapture the seat with Syed Sajjad defeating BJP candidate G. Kishan Reddy. In 2004 and 2009 Majlis leader Muqtada Afsar Khan, won it. This time the fight is between Kauser Mohiuddin and Baddam Balreddy in Karwan. In Malakpet the Majlis emerged victorious first time in 2009 with Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala defeating Md Muzaffar Ali Khan of TDP. The Majlis contested for the seat unsuccessfully in 1989 and 1994.

This election Ahmed Balala will lock horns with BJP’s B. Venkat Reddy. For the first time Majlis and BJP candidates will contest for the seat.

The Amberpet constituency was carved out during the delimitation exercise in 2009 with inclusion of parts of Malakpet and Himayatnagar constituencies.

As per 2013 records there are over 2, 30,000 voters in Amberpet constituency and around 45,000 Muslim voters. G. Kishan Reddy emerged victorious in 2009 by defeating Congress candidate Md. Fareeduddin. While Mr. Reddy got 59,134 votes, the Congress leader could get 31,876.

Muslim votes play a crucial role here and Majlis could also emerge a winner in the triangular contest between the Majlis, BJP and Congress. While the BJP has announced candidature of sitting MLA, G. Kishan Reddy, the Congress has fielded V. Hanumanth Rao and Majlis Sharath Nalaganti.

More In: Hyderabad