Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Public School (Jubilee Hills) created history to become the first school team from AP to emerge champions in the CBSE School National Table Tennis Championship (under-14) by defeating Don Bosco School (Guwahati) 3-1 in the final at Durgapur (West Bengal) on Friday, according to information received here.

The winning team was led by S. Fidel R. Snehit and included B. Varun Shankar, Mitul Agarwal and D. Sai Sharan. In the semi-final the Hyderabad school got the better of top-seeded Hansraj Model School (New Delhi) 3-1.

In the individual category, Snehit won the bronze medal in the under-14 category beating his schoolmate Varun Shankar in the pre-quarter finals. In the bronze medal play-off, Snehit defeated Anukram Jain of PSPB (Rajasthan) 3-1. 

“I am feeling very happy to win the gold in the team event at the national level,” a delighted captain Snehit remarked.

V. Rama Devi, Principal of BVBPS, congratulated the winning team.

More In: Hyderabad