MCD will offer a rebate of 15 per cent if the tax is paid by June

With the process of the upcoming municipal elections in full swing, the civic body on Thursday asked people to file their property tax returns in their respective municipal corporations.

Though the MCD Commissioner had proposed an increase while presenting the 2012-13 MCD budget last December, the proposal was not implemented and rates will continue to be the same as in the last financial year.

The property tax rates vary between 7 per cent and 12 per cent across eight categories for residential properties; between 10 per cent and 15 per cent across eight categories for non- residential properties; and a uniform 20 per cent for all categories listed as special non-residential properties.

The MCD stressed that property owners should file their returns “within the respective Municipal Corporation only”. People can approach their local zonal offices in order to file their current and pending property tax dues.

The MCD will offer a rebate of 15 per cent if the property tax is paid in “lump-sum in one instalment” by June. No rebates would be offered for payments made in quarterly instalments. Late payments would attract a simple interest of one per cent per month or part of the month after the due date of each quarter when tax was due.Senior citizens (60 years or more) (pro- rata basis), women, physically challenged and ex-Servicemen owning a single property up to 200 square metres covered area, which is occupied by them or being used for residential purpose, would be eligible for a rebate of 30 per cent on the property tax. If a person is eligible for multiple rebates under this head, they can avail only one rebate.Property tax returns can be filed either at the zonal MCD office or online at MCD's website and The zones identified are City Zone, Karol Bagh, Najafgarh, Shahdara (North), Narela, Rohini, Civil Lines, Joshi Colony, Central Zone, Shahdara (South), Sadar, Paharganj and West. The MCD would be trifurcated into North, East and South after the upcoming municipal polls. Elections to all new municipalities will be held on April 15 and counting of votes will take place on April 17.

More In: Delhi