AAP candidate M.S. Dhir was on Friday elected as the Speaker of Delhi Assembly with the support of Congress.

Mr. Dhir was also backed by the lone JD(U) MLA and an Independent.

Thirty seven MLAs supported Mr. Dhir while BJP candidate Jagdish Mukhi got the support of 32 MLAs from his party.

Immediately after his election to the post, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and BJP leader Harsh Vardhan greeted Mr. Dhir and wished him good luck.

“I congratulate you from the core of my heart and hope that you will keep the prestige and the tradition of the Assembly intact,” said Mr. Vardhan.

The pro-tem speaker conducted a voice vote twice following objections by BJP MLAs.


AAP government wins confidence voteJanuary 2, 2014