The Aam Aadmi Party on Saturday issued its second list of 44 candidates for 10 more Delhi Assembly constituencies. A total of 84 candidates had applied for the constituencies of Babarpur, Bawana, Chhatarpur, Gokulpur, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar, Mustafabad, Rajouri Garden, Shalimar Bagh and Vishwas Nagar.

“The shortlisted candidates represent people from all walks of life. Musharraf Khan, a daily wage earner, is one of the shortlisted candidates from the Rajouri Garden Assembly constituency. Similarly, two doctors – Dr. Atul Gupta and Dr. Inder Singh – are also part of the shortlisted candidates from Vishwas Nagar. Another doctor, Dr. Jai Prakash Lohia, who is now into dairy business also figures in the list. Jyoti Bansal, a party worker who has now shifted to Australia, has also been shortlisted from the Krishna Nagar Assembly seat. The Screening Committee interacted with her through Skype and shortlisted her name,” the AAP said in a statement issued here.

The party claims it is vetting the list of candidates thoroughly to ensure there are no contestants with a criminal record. “In the last Delhi Vidhan Sabha elections in 2008, the Congress and the BJP had fielded 19 candidates each with a criminal background. The BSP also gave a ticket to 15 tainted people. The screening committee created by the Aam Aadmi Party has tried its best to avoid shortlisting people who have any kind of criminal background based on the information provided in the candidate forms. Still, to check if these potential candidates have suppressed any information, the AAP is uploading their forms on the website,” the party claimed.

The AAP has so far put up the profiles of these 44 shortlisted candidates on its website and has solicited comments on these applications.

Earlier, the party had announced its shortlist for 12 constituencies.

More In: Delhi