The seventeen employees of the Forest Department who were identified by the affected women as accused in the identification parade and later in the courts in Krishnagiri were convicted under section 376 of IPC and 3(2) (v) of SC and ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act 1989 for seven years RI with Rs. 2000 fine and 10 years Rigorous Imprisonment with Rs. 1000 fine.

They were handed over to the police immediately for lodging in the Salem Central Prison. The accused sentenced under section 376 of IPC were: P. Arunachalam, T. Arumugam, P. Rajagopal, A. Periyanayagam, Rajamanickam, K. Govindan, P. Rathinavelu, K. Pachaipan, A. Vediappan, P. Chidambaram, R.G. Perumal, L. Palani, M. Perumal, K. Alagiri, K. Madhaiyan, C. Kaliappan, V. Janakiraman. Of this, twelve accused Non SC, ST were convicted under section 3(2) (v) of SC and ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act 1989 and was sentenced to 10 years Rigorous Imprisonment.

Keywords: Vachathi case

More In: Coimbatore