Mayor S.M. Velusamy flagged off 38 news buses the State Government had allotted to the Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Coimbatore) Limited, says a release.

The release also says that the Government had also given 19 buses to the Erode Division and 27 buses to the Tirupur Division.

In Tirupur, 27 new buses were flagged off via video conferencing.

Official sources said that of the new buses introduced into the fleet, as many as seven were for Tirupur-I branch of the TNSTC, six each for Tirupur-II and Palani-I branches, five for Palani-II branch, and one each for Dharapuram, Kangayam and Uduamlpet branches, all coming under Tirupur Division

Replacement of old buses

“The replacement of the old buses has been done with an aim to improve travel comfort of the passengers,” TNSTC officials said.

The new model buses would be used for services in Tirupur-Coimbatore, Tirupur-Velankanni, Tirupur-Thanjavur, Palani-Coimbatore, Palani-Mettupalayam, Palani-Salem, Tirupur-Paramakudi, Tirupur-Chengottai, Palani-Anthiyur and Udumalpet-Coimbatore.

More In: Coimbatore