A glittering evening marks Manappuram Miss South India

Music and glittering lights welcome you to Le Meridien. The fashion contest Manappuram Miss South India is about to begin. Cochin-based music band Ritu Raga performs live as the 16 models from Kerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh walk the ramp.

“We are playing a fusion of Carnatic music, jazz and folk according to the clothes the models are wearing,” says the lead violinist of the band Viswanath. The judges for the show are former Miss World, Parvathy Omanakuttan, film director Major Ravi, Mrs. India 2011, Mrs. Jeemole Jaibin, rotary governor, Kuriachan, actor and fashion designer Sajimon Parayil and media person, Toshma Biju. It begins with an ethnic round where the models, clad in half-sari, walk the ramp. The white saris with zaris look pretty. The models sport bindis, tikkas, and braids. Flowing skirts with the traditional mango print define this collection.

The second sequence is the gown round. The ladies are dressed in flowing gowns and they are accompanied by soulful piano music.

Maria, a Russian belly dancer makes graceful moves and Kishore, the winner of television reality show, Entertainment Ke Liye Kuch Bhi Karega, entertains the audience with his acrobatics. The show comes to an end as judges declare the winners. Abhishikta S Shetty, from Karnataka is crowned Manappuram Miss South India 2014. Aditi Shetty and Meghna Shetty from Karanataka bag the first runner up and second runner up titles.


Geetika Bindana (Miss Congeniality)

Archana Jayakrishnan (Miss Perfect Ten)

Aditi Shetty (Miss Beautiful Face)

Ashwika Omkumar (Miss Beautiful Smile)

Swapna Nair (Miss Beautiful Hair)

Geetika Bindana (Miss Viewers Choice)

Darshith Mita Gowda (Miss Catwalk)

Shree Iraa (Miss Beautiful Eyes)

Taniya Stanly (Miss Talented)

Abhishikta S Shetty (Miss beautiful Skin)

Darshithmita Gowda ( Miss Photogenic)

Swapna Nair (Miss Personality)

Regional titles:

Raxshmi Miss Queen Andhra

Darshithmita Gowda

Miss Queen Karnataka

Archana Jayakrishnan

Miss Queen Kerala

Shree Iraa Miss Tamil Nadu