What it is about…

Vel Media and Abi TCS jointly present Thegidi, a crime thriller, produced by C. Senthil Kumar and written and directed by P. Ramesh. The cinematographer is Dinesh Krishnan. Leo John Paul is the editor. Nivas K. Prasanna has scored the music. The stunts are by ‘Billa’ Jagan. S.S. Murthy is the art director. The cast comprises Ashok Selvan, Janani Iyer, Jayaprakash, Jayakumar, Pradeep Nair, Rajan Iyer, Sai, Sivakumar and Soundarajan. The audio was released in the presence of producers Keyar, Srinivasan and Siva and director Nalan Kumarasamy and actor Vijay Sethupathi.

What they say…

Producer C. Senthil Kumar: C.V. Kumar, who produced Soodhu Kavvum and Pizza, is my brother. When I expressed my desire to produce my own movie, he encouraged me and we read a number of scripts together before zeroing in on Thegidi. I feel I have a box office hit in my hands.

Director P. Ramesh: I am from the IT industry. I made seven short films for the Nalaya Iyakkunar show on Kalaignar TV. I got the best director award in Season 2 of the programme. When I wanted to do a feature film, I sent my script to C.V. Kumar, who asked me to go ahead with the project right away.

Hero Ashok Selvan: This is my third movie after Soodhu Kavvum and Pizza 2-Villa. I must thank the director and the producer for giving me this opportunity. I have acted in a number of shorts films. Thegidi is an interesting subject and I am sure of its success.

Music director Nivas K. Prasanna: I started learning music at a tender age. It’s been my dream to become a music director. I am a singer cum pianist and have worked with some of the big names in the industry such as Abaswaram Ramji, Rajesh Vaidya, Shankar Mahadevan and Sudha Ragunathan. When director Ramesh heard my music, he wanted me to score the music for his first feature film which also happens to be my debut. After the release of Thegidi’s audio, I am getting a lot of good response from different quarters.

Music Highlights: There are seven songs in the album, two of which are karaoke versions. Kabilan has written four numbers — ‘Yaar Ezhudhiyadho,’ ‘Vinmeen Vithaiyil,’ ‘Kangalai Oru’ and ‘Neethane Neethane.’ The album opens with ‘Yaar Ezhudhiyadho,’ a pleasant number sung by Sathya Prakash Dharmar. Abhay Jodhpurkar teams up with Saindhavi Prakash to render the beautiful ‘Vinmeen Vithaiyil.’ Ajesh Ashok deserves praise for the haunting solo ‘Kangalai Oru.’ Shankar Mahadevan’s powerful voice shines through ‘Neethane Neethane,’ which is further enhanced by Rajesh Vaidya’s veena. Kurunji Prabha has penned ‘Neeyum Dhinam’ which is well rendered by Andrea Jeremiah.