The government has directed all authorised banks to keep their designated branches open during the weekend to enable corporate and individual tax payers to pay their first quarter advance tax by September 15.

“All designated branches of authorised banks have been asked to function on September 14 and 15, 2013 (Saturday & Sunday) to accept advance tax payments,” a Finance Ministry statement said here, adding that payments will also be accepted on Monday (September 16).

The payment of quarterly advance tax on or before September 15, 2013 by taxpayers being a statutory requirement, the statement said: “All such tax payers who are liable to pay advance tax must make payments in the designated branches of the banks authorised to accept tax payments.”

The Reserve Bank of India has designated branches of State Bank of India, other public sector banks, HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank, Axis Bank, IDBI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank to collect the payments.

More In: Business | National | News