Calling for entries for the Srinivas Rayaprol Poetry Prize

Instituted by the Srinivas Rayaprol Literary Trust to recognise excellence in poetry written in English, the prize is administered jointly by the Department of English, University of Hyderabad.

The prize, consisting of a cash award of Rs.10,000 and a citation will be presented at a literary event in Hyderabad in October 2013.

The entries will be judged by a distinguished jury of poets and literary personalities. Entries are invited from Indian citizens between 20-40 years. Deadline: August 31, 2013

The entries must include: Three different, unpublished poems written by the applicant;

Evidence of age and complete contact information.

Poems submitted must not have names of the poet on them.

Send entries to:

Dr. Aparna Rayaprol, Convener, Srinivas Rayaprol Poetry Prize, Director, Study in India Programme, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad AP 500046 or e-mail:

Shortlist for 2014 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

The shortlist of nominees for the 2014 Neustadt International Prize for Literature is out. The list includes César Aira, Mia Couto, Duong Thu Huong, Edward P. Jones, Ilya Kaminsky, Chang-rae Lee, Edouard Maunick, Haruki Murakami, and Ghassan Zaqtan.

For the first time ever, authors have been nominated from Mauritius, Mozambique, Palestine and Ukraine. Additionally, Jones is the first male African American writer to be nominated in the 44-year history of the prize.

The winner will be announced on November 1 and will receive $50,000, a replica of an eagle feather cast in silver, and a certificate of recognition.

For more information on the Neustadt Prize and the fall 2013 festival, visit

More In: Books | Hyderabad