National Basketball | Delhi women register exciting win over Maharashtra, advance

December 07, 2023 11:29 pm | Updated 11:29 pm IST - LUDHIANA

Delhi scored a thrilling 65-63 victory over Maharashtra in a women’s Group B match of the 73rd National basketball championship at the Guru Nanak Dev Indoor Stadium on Thursday.

Delhi qualified for the quarterfinals along with Railways, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Punjab.

In the men’s section, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Delhi, Services, Railways and Rajasthan progressed to the last-eight stage.

The results (league):

Men: Group A: Rajasthan 94 (Devender Choudary 24, Mahaveer 20, Ashish Tiwari 20, Lokendra Singh 16) bt Telangana 71 (Bill Nathan Abraham 27, Surya Kumar 13).

Group B: Delhi 86 (Vishesh Bhriguvanshi 32, Rachit 19, Arjun Singh 13, Joginder Singh 13) bt Railways 79 (Manik 27, Palpreet Singh 20, Jaya Venkatesh10). Tamil Nadu 93 (Bal Dhaneswar 15, Prashant Singh Rawat 16, B. Soorya 12, Aravind Kumar 11) bt Kerala 64 (Jerome Prince 17).

Women: Group A: Chhattisgarh 82 (Nisha Kashyap 20, Shanthi Xaxa 19, Divyani Gangwal 10) bt West Bengal 55 (Jyoti 25, Megha Singh 10). Karnataka 74 (Sanjana Ramesh 23, Varsha Nandini 16, Lopamudra 16, Roshni John 10) bt Tamil Nadu 55 (Nitika 15, Srividya 11).

Group B: Delhi 65 (Raspreet Sidhu 21, Ishika Choudhary 10) bt Maharashtra 63 (Siya Seodhar 16, Anshika Kanojia 11). Punjab 61 (Manmeet Kaur 17, Kavya Singla 15, Komalpreet Kaur 12) bt Uttar Pradesh 56 (Lipramayee Satapathy 16, Megh Singh 15, Shruti Yadav 10).

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.