MP tracker: How did your parliamentarian fare in 16th Lok Sabha?

As the term of the 16th Lok Sabha is going to end in a few months, we take a look at the performance of the members. 

As many as 571 members were elected to the 16th Lok Sabha. This includes the byelections that were necessitated as and when the seats fell vacant. Of them, 62 members were part of the Cabinet at some point. 


Since it is not mandatory for the Prime Minister, Council of Ministers, Speaker and Deputy Speaker to sign the attendance register, their presence in the Lok Sabha could not be verified. Also as per the Lok Sabha rules, a member has to sign the register to ensure attendance. So if a person takes part in the proceedings but forgets to sign the register, they will be considered as absent. 

Four non-minister members recorded an impressive 100% attendance. This includes Ramesh Chander Kaushik, Gopal Chinayya Shetty, Kulamani Samal, and Bhairon Prasad Mishra. Of them, Mr. Samal represents the BJD, while the others are BJP members. 

Ashok Gajapati Raju (TDP) and Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti (BJP), who were formers ministers, also recorded 100% attendance. Interestingly, all six members are first-time MPs. 


The average age of the 16th Lok Sabha is 58.3 years. L.K. Advani is the oldest member aged 91, while Pravin Kumar Nishad and Dushyant Chautala are the youngest, at 30 years old. 

Educational qualifications

Thirty-four members have an earned a doctorate and, of them, 14 were from the BJP. As many as 26 members are post-graduates, and 34 are graduates. 


Only 68 members in the Lok Sabha are women. This constitutes 11.81% of the total strength. While the BJP has the most number of women MPs (20), in terms of party-wise gender ratio, Trinamool Congress is the frontrunner. Around 34% of Trinamool members are women. 


Bhairon Prasad Mishra, first-time BJP MP from Banda, Uttar Pradesh, participated in the most number of debates — 2,095, to be precise. Pushpendra Singh Chandel, another first-time MP, also from BJP, comes second, having taken part in 1,884 debates. 

As many as 28 members haven’t participated in a single debate. Among them, five of them have over 90% attendance. 


Supriya Sule, NCP member from Baramati, holds the record for asking the most number of questions in the 16th Lok Sabha. She has asked 1,181 questions. Her party colleague from Kolhapur, Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik has asked just 11 questions fewer than Ms. Sule. 

Maharashtra members lead the pack when it comes to questions. Eight out of the top 10 inquisitive members are from the State.

As many as 36 non-ministerial members have posed not a single question in the House. Ministers generally don't ask questions to their cabinet colleagues on the floor of the House. 

Private Members Bills 

Nishikant Dubey, the BJP member from Godda, has introduced 48 Private Members Bills, the most by a member. Gujarat member, BJP’s Kirit Solanki, introduced 33 such Bills, finishing second. A total of 1,116 Private Members Bills were introduced in this session, of which 639 were from BJP members. 

Here is an interactive graphic to compare the performance of your MP with the national average.

(If you are unable to view the interactive graphic click here)


Please note: Data won't show for Lok Sabha members who were part of the Council of Ministers. 

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 4, 2020 8:39:19 PM |

Next Story