Thrikkakara byelection on May 31

May 03, 2022 07:12 pm | Updated 07:12 pm IST - THIRUVANANTHAPURAM

The byelection to the Thrikkakara Assembly seat, which fell vacant following the death of senior Congress leader P. T. Thomas, will be held on May 31. The votes will be counted on June 3. The Election Commission of India announced the poll date on Monday.

The election notification will be issued on May 4 and May 11 is the last date for filing nominations. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on May 12. May 16 is the last for the withdrawal of candidature.

With regard to the COVID-19 situation, the revised broad guidelines issued by the Election Commission on January 8 will apply. All activities related to the bypoll are to be wound up by June 5.

The death of Mr. Thomas on December 22 last year has necessitated the bypoll in Thrikkakara.

The bypoll to Thrikkakara is the first after the present CPI(M)-led LDF government led by Pinarayi Vijayan came to power in May 2021.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.