Kiran beats PV, Rosaiah, Anjaiah in tenure

Published - November 25, 2012 12:16 pm IST - HYDERABAD

Long tenures and the Congress Chief Ministers generally do not go together.

The State was witness to the frequent change of Chief Ministers with such regularity, mainly due to dissidence, that only three Congress Chief Minister’s served for a period of over five in more than one spell.

They are Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (Nov.,1956 – Jan.,1960 and March,1962 –Feb.,1964), Kasu Brahmananda Reddy (Feb., 1964- Sept.,1971), and Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy (May 2004 to Sept., 2009).

Chief Ministers, who were in office for more than two years were- Damodaram Sanjivaiah (26 months), Jalagam Vengal Rao (over four years), Marri Chenna Reddy (over three years in two spells), Kotla Vijayabhaskara Reddy (over two years in two spells).

Less than two years in office

Of the 12 Congress Chief Ministers, five were in office for less than two years.

Veteran leaders such as P.V. Narasimha Rao (14 months), K. Rosaiah ( 14 months) had to make way for others when going became difficult. So was the case with T. Anjaiah (14 months) Bhavanam Venkatram (seven months) and N. Janardhan Reddy (22 months).

Mr. N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, who completed two years as Chief Minister, thus registers a milestone, considering the political turbulence after Mr. Rosaiah stepped down and the threats held out by his own partymen against him.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.