Requests to include 38 languages in Constitution pending: Govt

The logo of the Tulu Conference held in Belthangady, Karnataka, on Nov. 24, 2009. Tulu is one of the 38 languages, including English, pending approval by the Union government for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule of the Consitution. Photo: Special Arrangement.  

Demands by various organisations and State governments for the inclusion of 38 languages, including English, in the Constitution are pending with the government.

“A number of representations or requests from different organisations and State governments have been received in this (Home) Ministry for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution, including Tulu. At present demand for 38 languages are pending inclusion in the Eight Schedule to the Constitution,” the Minister of State for Home Affairs, Ajay Maken, told Lok Sabha in reply to a written question.

The languages pending approval are Angika, Banjara, Bazika, Bhojpuri, Bhoti, Bhotia, Bundelkhandi, Chhattisgarhi, Dhatki, English, Garhwali (Pahari), Gondi, Gujjar or Gujjari, Ho, Kaachachhi, Kamtapuri, Karbi, Khasi, Kodava (Coorg), Kok Barak, Kumaoni (Pahari) and Kurak.

The other languages are, Lepcha, Limbu, Mizo (Lushai), Magahi, Mundari, Nagpuri, Nicobarese, Pahari (Himachali), Pali, Rajasthani, Sambalpuri or Kosali, Shaurseni (Prakrit), Siraiki, Tenyidi and Tulu, the Minister said.

“A decision on pending demands for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule, including Tulu, will be taken in the light of the recommendations of the Sitakant Mohapatra Committee and the decision of the government thereon.

“No time frame can be fixed for consideration of the demands for inclusion of more languages in the >Eighth Schedule,” Mr. Maken said

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 22, 2021 8:18:25 PM |

Next Story