11 get death in Godhra train burning case

20 sentenced to life imprisonment

March 01, 2011 12:36 pm | Updated December 04, 2021 10:58 pm IST - Ahmedabad

The Sabarmati Express set on fire in Godhra, on February 27, 2002.

The Sabarmati Express set on fire in Godhra, on February 27, 2002.

A special fast track court on Tuesday sentenced 11 convicts to death and 20 others to life imprisonment in the 2002 Godhra train burning case.

The court, however, gave the convicts 90 days to appeal against the judgment in the Gujarat High Court.

Defence counsel I.M. Munshi said the appeal would be filed within the stipulated period. “We are thoroughly dissatisfied with the court order, and we will appeal in the High Court,” he told journalists after emerging from the special court room in the high-security Sabarmati Central Jail, where judge P.R. Patel announced the quantum of punishment to the convicted.

The entire proceedings of the special court, beginning with the trial on May 1, 2009 to the delivery of the final order on Tuesday, were held in camera.

Delivering its judgment on February 22, the court held the 31 people guilty of conspiring and setting ablaze the S-6 coach of the Sabarmati Express on the outskirts of the Godhra station on February 27, 2002.

The train was returning from Ayodhya to Ahmedabad with a large number of ‘kar sevaks' of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad.

Fifty-nine were killed in the fire, while more than 1,100 lost their lives in the riots caused by the incident.

The court, however, acquitted 63 others, including Moulana Umarji, who the police earlier claimed was the “mastermind” of the conspiracy.

The 11 convicts sentenced to death include Abdul Razzak Kurkur, owner of the Aman guesthouse near the Godhra station where the court believed the meeting to “hatch the conspiracy” was held the night before the incident; the former independent member of the Godhra Municipality, Ismail Suleja alias Haji Bilal, who was allegedly present at the meeting and hindered the firefighters from reaching the burning train and dousing the fire; and Jabbir Binyamin Behra, whose “confessional statement” was one of the most important evidences for the prosecution to establish the conspiracy theory.

The others given the capital punishment were Ramzani Binyamin Behra, Mehboob Hassan alias Latiko, Siraj Bala, Irfan Kalandar, Irfan Patadia, Hassan Lalu, Mehboob Chanda and Salim Zarda.

All of them were either a party to hatching the conspiracy or were among those who entered the S-6 coach, tearing open the vestibule and pouring petrol in the coach before setting it afire.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.