37,745 farmers to get drought relief in Tiruchi district, says Collector

May 12, 2013 03:50 pm | Updated November 16, 2021 10:07 pm IST - TIRUCHI:

Distribution of compensation to farmers in non-delta areas of the district for crop losses suffered by them owing to the monsoon failure began on Saturday.

About 37,745 farmers will get relief ranging from Rs. 3,000 to Rs. 5,000 an acre in the district. The State government has allotted Rs.16.96 crore for the purpose. Farmers who had raised paddy and suffered losses will be get Rs. 5,000 an acre. For other crops, farmers will get Rs.4,000 an acre in places with water sources and Rs. 3,000 an acre in places without water sources.

The sanction of the compensation comes after a team of Ministers led by O. Pannerselvam, Finance Minister, conducted a survey for sanction of compensation to farmers in the non-delta areas in the State. Chief Minister Jayalalithaa has ordered the sanction of relief based on the report of the team.

The process of distributing the compensation to non-delta farmers was inaugurated by T.P. Poonachi, Minister for Khadi and Village Industries, on Saturday.

He distributed compensation to the extent of Rs. 14.68 lakh to 680 farmers from Ammapettai, Chathrapatti, Ariyavur, Inamkulathur, Paganur, and Mathur at a function held at the Primary Agricultural Cooperative Society at Chathrapatti.

In Tiruchi district, crops on about 53,631 acres of crops in the non-delta areas were affected.

Already, Rs. 33 crore had been disbursed as compensation to farmers in the delta areas of the district, M. Poonachi said.

Collector Jayashree Muralidharan said steps for drought relief had been taken across the district well in advance as per the instructions from the Chief Minister.

Water supply

Drinking water supply had been augmented by sinking borewells. She appealed to farmers to come forward to avail the government scheme for creation of farm ponds in their fields.

P. Kumar, MP; R. Manoharan, Chief Whip, M. Paranjothi and T. Indira Gandhi, MLAs, and G. Rajendra Prasad, Joint Registrar of Cooperatives, and J. Sekar, Joint Director of Agriculture, were present.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.