Nine from Telangana find place in BJP first list for LS polls

Kishan Reddy, Bandi Sanjay Kumar, D. Arvind retained; B.B. Patil gets ticket a day after switching loyalties

March 02, 2024 10:02 pm | Updated March 03, 2024 12:07 am IST - HYDERABAD

BJP’s first list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls 2024 lists names of nine candidates from Telangana

BJP’s first list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls 2024 lists names of nine candidates from Telangana | Photo Credit: By Arrangement

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Central Election Committee has retained three sitting MPs, including State BJP chief and Union Minister G. Kishan Reddy, in the first list of nine candidates from Telangana for the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Mr. Kishan Reddy has been retained to contest from Secunderabad Lok Sabha seat. The party has renominated national general secretary Bandi Sanjay Kumar (Karimnagar) and Dharmapuri Arvind (Nizamabad) and held back the name of another sitting MP, Soyam Bapu Rao (Adilabad ST).

The first list released in New Delhi on Saturday has nine names, including two new names. Two-time BRS MP from Zaheerabad B.B. Patil, who joined the BJP on Friday, has been given the ticket while P. Bharat, son of another BRS MP P. Ramulu, who joined BJP the day before, has been named as the candidate from Nagarkurnool SC reserved constituency.

Another new face is Madhavi Latha of Virinchi Hospitals in Hyderabad. She will contest from the MIM stronghold of Hyderabad constituency, represented by Asaduddin Owaisi.

Former MP Konda Vishveshwar Reddy has been given the ticket from Chevella constituency while another senior leader Eatala Rajender managed to pip several strong contenders from Malkajgiri constituency to bag the ticket.

Malkajgiri is the most sought-after seat for BJP leaders with top guns like Muralidhar Rao and chairman of a leading educational group M. Komuraiah trying their luck. Burra Narsaiah Goud will yet again contest from Bhongir parliamentary seat.


Party sources said that the next list from Telangana might take one more week. The party is understood to be waiting for some more defections from other parties. For constituencies such as Adilabad, Warangal, Nalgonda, Khammam, Mahabubabad, Medak and Peddapalli, the party is likely to prefer new-comers or those from other parties.

“The party has already identified leaders, who are likely to switch sides,” a top source said, adding that in case of Mahabubnagar, former minister and BJP vice-president D.K. Aruna stands a better chance to bag the ticket while former MP Jithender Reddy is also pitching hard.

Meanwhile, Mr. Kishan Reddy thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP national president J.P. Nadda, the party leadership, and people for reaffirming their confidence and faith in him.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.