Haryana Lokhit Party, Independents to support BJP, says MLA Gopal Kanda

Announcement comes as a shot in the arm for the BJP to form the government again in the State

Updated - December 03, 2021 07:01 am IST

Published - October 25, 2019 01:04 pm IST - GURUGRAM:

Haryana Lokhit Party leader Gopal Kanda during a roadshow after his victory in Assembly elections, in Sirsa district, Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019.

Haryana Lokhit Party leader Gopal Kanda during a roadshow after his victory in Assembly elections, in Sirsa district, Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019.

Haryana Lokhit Party MLA Gopal Kanda on Friday announced his party’s and the Independents’ unconditional support for the BJP in Haryana, in a shot in the arm to the BJP’s efforts to form a government again in the State.

Engaged in a stiff electoral battle with the Congress, the BJP, with 40 seats, had fallen six short of the majority figure in the 90-member Assembly. The Congress won 31 seats and the Jannayak Janta Party only 10.

Speaking to mediapersons in Delhi, Mr. Kanda said he, along with the Independents, had decided to extend “unconditional” support to the BJP in the State. He said that the country was on the path to development under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and he, along with the other Independents, had decided that the development work being carried in the Haryana under the BJP must continue.

Facing charges of abetment to suicide in connection with the death of an airhostess in 2012, Mr. Kanda said all allegations against him were baseless and he would emerge clean. He said that his family was associated with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh since 1926.

Outgoing Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, who was present in Delhi’s Haryana Bhawan to discuss government formation, said his party was soon going to form the government. Rania Independent MLA Ranjit Singh, who is the brother of former Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala, was also present in Haryana Bhawan and announced his unconditional support for the BJP. At least three of the seven Independents were present in Haryana Bhawan.

Five of the seven Independents among the winners in Haryana are BJP rebels and contested on their own after they were denied tickets. All the five were expected to support the BJP.

The BJP leaders were also in talks with Badshahpur Independent MLA Rakesh Daultabad, who defeated the BJP’s Manish Yadav to emerge victorious, said party sources. Mr. Daultabad had contested on the symbol of Indian National Lok Dal in 2014 and had lost.

Earlier, ex-Rohtak MP Deepender Hooda reiterated that the mandate was against the BJP and urged all Opposition parties and the Independents to come together to form a coalition government in the State. He said the mandate to the Independents was against the BJP and they must respect it.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.