Varanasi Lok Sabha Constituency

Current MP
Narendra Modi
Constituency Type
No of Assembly Constituencies
Polling Date
June 1, 2024
Voter turnout
2019 - 57.13%| 2014 - 58.35%| 2009 - 42.61%

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Parliamentary constituency from where he is now contesting for the third time, Varanasi will probably end up being the most-watched seat in 2024. It consists of the Assembly seats of Rohaniya, Varanasi North, Varanasi South, Varanasi Cantt., and Sevapuri. Both Congress as well as the Bharatiya Janata Party MPs have represented the seat 7 times. Mr. Modi won the seat in 2014 with 56.37% of the votes, and increased his vote share to 63.62% in 2019. Before him, it was represented by BJP veteran Murli Manohar Joshi. In 2014, AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal and Ajay Rai, the present State Congress president, fought unsuccessfully against Mr. Modi.


BJP won 3 times since 2009 elections.

2019BJP 63.62%SP 18.4%
2014BJP 56.37%AAAP 20.3%
2009BJP 30.52%BSP 27.94%

Lok Sabha Elections

MahindraRausTH Elections
MahindraRausTH Elections


Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in