PM’s economic advisory council reconstituted

JP Morgan’s Sajjid Chinoy inducted

September 25, 2019 10:18 pm | Updated 10:48 pm IST - NEW DELHI

Sajjid Chinoy

Sajjid Chinoy

The government on Wednesday announced that it had reconstituted the Prime Minister’s Economic Advisory Council for a period of two years.

“Government of India has reconstituted the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) for a period of two years with effect from September 26, 2019,” it said in a statement. “Dr. Bibek Debroy and Shri Ratan P. Watal will continue to be the chairman and member secretary, respectively, of the reconstituted EAC-PM.”

The release added that the EAC-PM would have two part-time members apart from the two full-time members. Ashima Goyal will be retained as a part-time member and joined by Sajjid Chenoy, currently JP Morgan’s chief India economist.

“Apart from these two full-time members, the EAC-PM will have two part-time members,” the release added. “While Dr. Ashima Goel continues to be one of the part-time members, Dr. Sajjid Chinoy has been made as another part-time member.”

What the government did not expressly mention was that, with this structure and appointments, the two dissenting members Rathin Roy and Shamika Ravi have not been retained.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.