Supreme Court Collegium recommends transfer of two HC judges

Patna HC judge Justice Birendra Kumar has been transferred to Rajasthan HC and Rajasthan HC’s Justice Satish Kumar Sharma has been shifted to M.P. HC

October 29, 2021 05:43 pm | Updated 05:47 pm IST - New Delhi

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended transfer of two High Courts judges.

While Patna High Court judge Justice Birendra Kumar has been transferred to Rajasthan High Court, Justice Satish Kumar Sharma has been shifted from Rajasthan High Court to Madhya Pradesh High Court.

The Collegium headed by Chief Justice N.V. Ramana in a meeting held on October 28, 2021 took the decision and the resolution was uploaded on the apex court website on Friday.

Justice Kumar held the office of Registrar General, Patna High Court from the year 2011 to 2014. Before elevation, he was posted as District and Sessions Judge, Patna. He was elevated as an Additional Judge of Patna High Court on November 16, 2016.

Justice Sharma was elevated as Judge of Rajasthan High Court on March 6, 2020.

Besides CJI Ramana, Justices U.U. Lalit and A.M. Khanwilkar are part of the three-member Collegium which takes decisions with regard to the High Court judges.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.