SC now has 3 women judges

Justice Indira Banerjee. File photo: E. LakshmiNarayanan  

With the swearing-in of Justice Indira Banerjee, the Supreme Court on Tuesday, for the first time in its history, has three sitting women judges.

Justice Banerjee was sworn in by Chief Justice Dipak Misra along with Justices Vineet Saran and K.M. Joseph. The two other women judges are Justices R. Banumathi and Indu Malhotra, the first Supreme Court woman judge who was directly appointed from the Bar.

Justice Banerjee is the eighth woman judge in the Supreme Court since Independence. Among the three sitting women judges, Justice Banumathi is the seniormost.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 15, 2021 10:19:02 PM |

Next Story