BJP bags 12 seats, Congress 5 in Rajya Sabha elections

Ruling party claims win in all the 9 U.P. seats it contested.

Updated - March 24, 2018 01:10 am IST

Published - March 23, 2018 10:55 pm IST - New Delhi

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath with the BJP candidates, who won the Rajya Sabha elections from the state, in Lucknow on Friday.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath with the BJP candidates, who won the Rajya Sabha elections from the state, in Lucknow on Friday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 12 of the 25 Rajya Sabha seats across six States for which biennial elections were held on Friday, along with a bypoll in one State.

In all, 33 candidates from 10 States were earlier declared elected unopposed.

At the time of filing of the report, the counting process for one seat had not been concluded in Uttar Pradesh. However, the BJP claimed victory in all the nine seats it had contested.


Two-hour delay

In all, the Congress won five seats, while the Trinamool Congress got four, the TRS three and the LDF and the Samajwadi Party (Jaya Bachchan) one each. On completion of voting, counting in Uttar Pradesh for 10 seats started after about a two-hour delay, following allegations by the Samajwadi Party and the BSP that two MLAs had cross-voted.

BSP’s Anil Kumar Singh had told the media that he was with “Maharaj-ji (Yogi Adityanath).” While the result for one seat had not been declared officially, eight seats went to the BJP and one SP candidate was declared winner.

Significant win

The BJP’s win in Uttar Pradesh assumes significance as it comes on the heels of its by-poll loss to the SP backed by the BSP.

The BJP had enough MLAs to send eight candidates to the Upper House, but has now been able to send its ninth candidate as well, allegedly through cross-voting in its favour.

In West Bengal, all four Trinamool candidates — sitting Rajya Sabha member Nadimul Haque and first time nominees Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santanu Sen — were declared elected. TMC-backed Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi also won.

BJP’s Sandeep Oraon and Congress candidate Dheeraj Sahu claimed victory in Jharkhand, where the Congress and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P) had alleged that an MLA did not show his ballot to the party representative. But, the EC rejected the complaint after examining the video footage.

Congress candidates Dr. L. Hanumanthaiah, Dr. Syed Naseer Hussain and G.S. Chandrashekar were declared winners, while the BJP-backed Rajeev Chandrasekhar also was elected in Karnataka.

TRS bags three

In Telangana, the ruling TRS bagged all the three seats, with its candidates B. Prakash, J. Santosh Kumar and AB. Lingaiah Yadav being declared winners. C.M. Ramesh and Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar of the Telugu Desam Party and Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy of the YSR Congress were earlier elected unanimously.

BJP national general secretary Saroj Pandey won the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Chhattisgarh, by defeating Congress rival Lekhram Sahu. The CPI(M)-led and Left Democratic Front-backed independent candidate M. P. Veerendra Kumar won in Kerala.

Arun Jaitley, Anil Jain, GVL Narasimha Rao, Vijay Pal Tomar, Kanta Kardam, Ashok Bajpai, Harnath Yadav and Sakaldeep Rajbhar of the BJP were elected though the EC was yet to release the final tally. The BJP’s ninth candidate Anil Agarwal, won on second preference votes, at the cost of BSP nominee Bhimrao Ambedkar. U.P. CM Yogi Adityanath mocked the SP for failing to see the BSP candidate through.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.