Blade runners wow Kochi

‘The Challenging Ones’ stole the show at the second edition of the Spice Coast Marathon

Updated - November 16, 2015 05:41 am IST

Published - November 16, 2015 12:00 am IST - KOCHI

Blade runner and Kargil war hero Major D.P. Singh finishing in Marathon at Kochi on Sunday. – PTI

Blade runner and Kargil war hero Major D.P. Singh finishing in Marathon at Kochi on Sunday. – PTI

: The early hours and overcast conditions did not prove to be a deterrent for Major Devender Pal Singh from taking up the challenge and finishing it.

Amidst a huge round of applause from the massive crowd present on the ground, the Kargil-war hero completed the distance of 21.1 km with such élan that captivated even the able-bodied runners.

The iron will exhibited by ‘The Challenging Ones’, a pack of 19 blade runners led by D.P Sing, drew the praise of Kochiites who gathered to witness the second edition of the IDBI Federal Life Insurance Spice Coast Marathon 2015 here on Sunday.

Whilst Mr. Singh ran the half marathon, his team-mates, hailing from different parts of the country, wearing their blades and prosthetic limbs were taking part in their first 5k, the first ever running event after their limbs were amputated.

The event, in which races were held in three different segments, witnessed participation for as many as 2,300 runners from across the world. Paul Anthony, Chairman, Cohin Port trust flagged off the full marathon of 42.1 km, in which about 175 runners took part, at 4 in the morning.

Half Marathon flagged off at 5 a.m., with approximately 800 participants crossing the starting line.

About 15 teams comprising 4 each took part in the corporate relay, with Suyati taking the first and third positions, and Fragomen coming on 2nd position


Male – Full Marathon (42.1km): Vijayaraghavan Venugopal won the title (3:14:37), Brijesh Gajera runner-up (3:21:31) and Sankarnarayanan Venkatraman 3rd position (3:24:05) (42.1km)

Women – Full Marathon (42.1km): Claire Briggs won the title (4:35:44), Ankita Verma runner-up (5:02:380), and Alysia Sawicka 3rd position (5:09:41)

Male – Half Marathon (21.1km): Vijesh V won the title (1:19:07), Avinesh Kumar runner-up (1:23:31) and Velmurugan Kumar 3rd position (1:27:11)

Women – Half Marathon (21.1km): Lakshmi Nair won the title (2:00:47), Shamala Manmohan runner-up (2:02:20), Babita Baruwati 3rd position (2:07:17)

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.