Scientists, engineers get awards

Director of Sri Jayadeva Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences C.N. Manjunath receiving an award from Chief Minister B.S. Yeddiyurappa in Begaluru on Tuesday.  

The State government is planning to build a science gallery in Hebbal and planetariums in every region to benefit students, said Deputy Chief Minister C.N. Ashwath Narayan, speaking during an awards ceremony here on Tuesday.

Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa gave away the State awards for scientists and engineers for 2018.

The Sir M. Visvesvaraya Senior Scientists Award was conferred on C.N. Manjunath, Director, Sri Jayadeva Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, and S. Ramasesha, Honorary Professor of Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit in Indian Institute of Science. Dr. Raja Ramana Award was given to G.U Kulkarni, Director of Centre for Nano and Soft Matter Sciences, and Pratima Murthy, professor in Department of Psychiatry in NIMHANS.

The Sir C.V. Raman Award for young scientists was awarded to Annapurni Subramaniam of Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Ranjani Viswantha, Associate Professor at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, M.M. Srinivasa Bharath, Professor in the department of Neurochemistry in National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences, and Padubidri V. Shivaprasad, Associate Professor at National Centre for Biological Sciences.

The Professor Satish Dhawan Award for Engineers was received by Shayan Srinivasa Garani, Associate Professor in Department of Electronic System Engineering at Indian Institute if Science, C.D. Madhusooana, Additional General Manager, Ceramic Technology Institute, BHEL, Pramod Kumar, Department of Mechanical Engineering at Indian Institute of Science, and Amitabh Saraf, Associate Technology Director, Aeronautical Development Agency.

The Dr. Kalpana Chawla Award, given to a woman engineer for their extraordinary contribution in the development of Science and Technology, was awarded to Gayathri Devaraja. in department of Microbiology at Davangere University.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 23, 2021 12:53:47 PM |

Next Story