Vishnu Vardhan ousts Irwin

Kamesh Srinivasan

GURGAON: The colts announced their hunger for success as J. Vishnu Vardhan beat Richard Irwin of Britain while Navdeep Singh saved five matchpoints in the third set tie-break to outgun V.M. Ranjeet in the first round of the ITF Satellite tennis circuit third leg at the NTA Complex here on Monday.

On a gloomy day when tonnes of dust hung in the air and reduced visibility to a few metres like heavy fog, the strong-built Vishnu Vardhan of Hyderabad breathed easy against the Briton as he bounced back from being a break down in both the sets to win 6-3, 6-4.

Agony tells

The Briton who had reached the final of the first leg in the last edition at Indore, but has been struggling with his game since then, broke his racquet into pieces at the end of the ordeal to reveal his pent up frustration.

The trainee of C.V. Nagaraj at the School of Power Tennis, Vishnu Vardhan served big under pressure but was quite honest in conceding that he won more because of his opponent's mistakes.

The 17-year-old Hyderabad lad will next meet the winner of the match between sixth seed Gurmehar Singh and qualifier Yannick Nelord.

Equally impressive was the manner in which the 19-year-old Navdeep Singh fought hard in the climax in recording a memorable 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (8) triumph over V.M. Ranjeet in a battle that lasted two hours and 58 minutes.

The results:

Singles (first round): Navdeep Singh bt V.M. Ranjeet 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (8); Prima Simpatiaji (Ina) bt Tetsuhiro Yamamoto (Jpn) 7-6 (5), 6-3; J. Vishnu Vardhan bt Richard Irwin (GBR) 6-3, 6-4; Vijay Kannan bt Vikram Aditya Menon 6-2, 6-4.

Doubles (pre-quarterfinals): Rohan Bopanna and Vijay Kannan bt Pathanjali Ravishankar and Gurmehar Singh 6-3, 6-2; Salifu Mohammed (Gha) and Guillaume Tarralle (Fra) bt Shivang Mishra and V.M. Ranjeet 6-1, 6-2; Hayato Furukawa and Tetsuhiro Yamamoto (Jpn) bt Arjun Goutham and Aditya Madkekar 6-3, 6-2; Tushar Liberhan and Navdeep Singh bt Vijay Sundar Prashant and Anjan Viplav 5-7, 6-3, 6-2; Yew Ming Si (Mas) and Prima Simpatiaji (Ina) bt Kamala Kannan and Vinod Sridhar 3-6, 6-2, 6-2; Nitin Kirtane and Vishaal Uppal bt Sumit Prakash Gupta and Saurav Sukul 6-4, 6-3; Saketh Sai Myneni and P.C. Vignesh bt Yann Dupuy (Fra) and Nima Roshan (US) 6-3, 3-6, 6-4; Jaco Mathew and Ashutosh Singh bt Richard Irwin (GBR) and Stephen Mitchell (RSA) 6-3, 6-1.

Recommended for you