Uthra shocks Soumya

AHMEDABAD: Eleventh seed P. Uthra shocked the top seed Soumya Swaminathan (4) of Maharashtra to continue her upward journey with a full score of six points after sixth round in the XVI National chess championship for boys and girls being played at the Karnavati Club here on Thursday. Uthra's victory over Soumya has brighten her chances to win the championship as all other players are tailing by a margin of one point.

Rahul takes lead

Similarly in boys' section, third seed Rahul Sangma of Bihar has shot into lead with individual score of 5.5 points by defeating fourth seed Akshat Khamparia of Madhya Pradesh on second table.

International Master S. Arun Prasad (TN) and top seed G. Rohit of Andhra Pradesh, drew their game after 29 moves. This draw has pushed down Arun and Rohit to second spot along with Purushothaman T and V. Somesh.

However, the third spot was being held by as many as six players, Aniruddh Despande, Soumitra Majumdar (both from Mah), Ashwin Jayaram, S. P. Sethuraman, R. Arun Karthik (all from TN) and Anwesh Upadhyay (Orissa), with an individual score of 4.5 point each.

Uthra (6) is followed by another Tamil Nadu girl and second seed M. Rajadarshini and P. Laxmi Sahiti of Andhra Pradesh with a personal score of 5 points each.

Important results: (Sixth round):

Boys: 1. S. Arun Prasad (TN) (5) drew with G. Rohit (AP) (5); 2. Rahul Sangma (Bihar) (5.5) bt Aksht Khamparia (MP) (4); 3. V. Somesh (AP) (4) lost to Purushothaman T (AP) (5); 4. Y. Sandip (AP) (5) bts T. U. Navin Kanna (TN) (4) 5. Aniruddh Despande (Maha) (4.5) drew with Aswin Jayaram (TN) (4.5); 6. S. P. Sethuraman (TN) (4.5) drew with R. Arun Karthik (TN) (4.5); 7. Jayankur Chougale (Maha) (4) drew with T. Abhay (TN) (4) 8. Vedprakash Sinha (Bihar) (3.5) lost to Soumitra Majumdar (Maha) (4.5); 9. Anwesh Upadhyay (Ori) (4.5) bt P. Karthikeyan (TN) (3.5)

Girls: 1. P. Uthra (TN) (6) bt Soumya Swaminathan (Maha) (4); 2. M. Rajadarshini (TN) (5) bt S. V. Sathyapriya (TN) (4); 3. P. Laxmi Sahiti (AP) (5) bt H. Sowmya (TN) (4); 4. Kiran M. Mohanty (Ori) (4.5) bt Y. Niharika (AP) (3.5); 5. Devangi Patankar (Maha) (4.5) bt Dhyani Dave (Guj) (3); 6. P. Sivasankari (TN) (4) bt Sneha Ghatpande (Maha) (3); 7. Shalini Srivastava (Jhar) (4) bt Priya Sahay (UP) (3). — UNI

Recommended for you