Umpires named for India-Pakistan series

ISLAMABAD, FEB. 26. The International Cricket Council named umpires David Shepherd, Simon Taufel, Rudi Koertzen and Steve Bucknor to officiate in the one-day and Test series between India and Pakistan.

England's Shepherd and New Zealand's Taufel will stand in the five-match one-day series along with a local umpire, a Pakistan Cricket Board release said here on Thursday.

Bucknor of the West Indies and South African Koertzen would join the duo in the three-match Test series.

The names of the local umpires would be declared soon, the release added.

The list:

One-dayers: March 13: First ODI, Karachi (David Shepherd-local umpire); March 16: Second ODI, Rawalpindi (Simon Taufel-local umpire); March 19: Third ODI, Peshawar (Shepherd-local umpire); March 21: Fourth ODI, Lahore (Taufel-local umpire); March 24: Fifth ODI, Lahore (Shepherd-local umpire).

Tests: March 28-April 1: First Test, Multan (Shepherd-Taufel); April 5-9: Second Test, Lahore (Taufel-Steve Bucknor); April 13-17: Third Test, Rawalpindi (Rudi Koertzen-Shepherd).