Titles for Naveen, Nilaya

DAVANGERE: M.A. Naveen of Tamil Nadu and T. Nilaya of Andhra Pradesh won the boys and girls' champions in the AITA Championship Series (under-16) tennis championship which concluded at Davangere Club courts on Thursday.

The finals scheduled to start at 3 p.m. were delayed by two hours following a downpour. The third seed, Naveen simply brooked no resistance from his rival Advait Kirtane from the High Performance Tennis Academy, Bangalore, and cruised to a 6-0, 6-1 triumph in just 40 minutes.

In the girls' final, the second seeded Nilaya, who had earlier beaten the top seed, Harishini Reddy en route to the final, stopped Prarthana Pratap of Bangalore at 6-4, 6-4. Nilaya was stalled for a while after suffering an ankle sprain in the second set, when she led at 5-3. But the AP girl got back into action soon and finished off the formalities.

Nilaya, thus completed a fine double in the tournament as she had won the doubles title, partnering Shradha S. Dali of Maharashtra in the morning session. The pair beat Yamini Reddy and Asha Reddy 6-2, 4-6, 6-3. Advait Kirtane and Aadish Sardesai bagged the boys title with a 7-5, 4-6, 6-0 win over Naveen Sai (TN) and Deshmkuh (Maharashtra).

The results (all finals): Boys: under-16: singles: M.A. Naveen (TN) bt Advait Kirtane (HPTC) 6-0, 6-1. Doubles: Advait Kirtane & Aadish Sardesai bt Naveen Sai (TN) & Deshmkuh (Mah) 7-5, 4-6, 6-0.

Girls: under-16: singles: T. Nilaya ( AP) bt Prarthana Pratap (Kar) 6-4, 6-4. Doubles: Shradha S. Dali (Mah) bt Yamini Reddy/Asha Reddy (Kar) 6-2 , 4-6, 6-3.

Hard-fought win

for BBUL

Host Bhandari Bhabutmal Ummedmal Labdhi Jain Vidyalaya (BBUL) scored a hard-fought 3-2 win over HAL Public School in the quarterfinals of the boys' under-14 section on the opening day of the three-day CBSE Cluster VII (Karnataka & Andhra Pradesh) table tennis tournament in Bangalore on Thursday.

Shri Ramalinga Reddy, Minister for Primary & Secondary education, Govt. of Karnataka, formally inaugurated the tournament on Thursday morning.

The results: Boys: Under-14 (quarter finals): DAV Gulbarga bt Siddartha Vidyalaya 3-1; Sindhi HS bt St. John (Nanavaram) 3-2; Vani Edu. Society bt Aurbindo 3-0; Sri Kumarans bt MKET (Davangere) 3-0; Chirec (Hyd) bt Amrita Vidyalaya (Mys) 3-2; BBUL Jain Vidyalaya bt HAL Public 3-2; Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan (Hyd) bt JIRS 3-0; MRCL (Mang) bt National Hill View 3-0. Under-16 (first round): JSS (Mys) bt KCP Siddartha HS (Vij) 3-0; Aurbindo bt Gyanakshi 3-0; PSS Public bt Sri Satya Sai (Chikkabalapur) 3-1.

Girls: Under-16 (first round): Sri Kumarans bt Gyanakshi 3-1.

Big win for SAI `C'

Sports Authority of India `C' posted an 8-0 victory over Bharat Earth Movers Limited (KGF) in the `B' division league hockey tournament in Bangalore on Thursday.

Mudappa scored twice (2nd and 26th) along with Mandanna (43rd and 45th). Others from SAI `C' to score were Anand Patil (29th), Ponappa (39th) off a penalty stroke, Aiyappa (52nd) and Sumanth Patil 58th).

Bharat Earth Movers Limited (Bangalore) too was at the receiving end going down 1-5 to Hindustan Machine Tools. Diwakar scored first for BEML in the fourth minute after which HMT took command. Prashanth (24th and 29th), Prasad (26th), Somaiah (42nd) and Sukumar (59th) notched up the goals from HMT.

Maharatta Light Infantry `B' scored a 7-1 win over Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited with D. Gowda scoring thrice off penalty corners. He scored in the 14th, 20th and 50th minutes of the match. Other from MLI to score were Amol Patil (10th and 26th), Pandu Sirsatt (12th) and Yuvaraj Tawde (25th). Vinod Chengappa scored BSNL's sole goal off a penalty corner in the 22nd minute. — Special Correspondent

Recommended for you