Thiruvallur enters final

SIVAGANGAI: Thiruvallur stormed into the final of the 28th Tamil Nadu State Junior inter-district football championship conducted by Star Muslim Football Club with a thumping 4-1 victory over Sivagangai at Ilayangudi on Friday.

Striker Viswanathan took credit for scoring three goals for Thiruvallur. He opened the account in the 25th minute volleying home midfielder Sudhakar's cross. He scored in the next two minutes off a through pass sent by midfielder Manivannan. Outside-left Sam Abisekam scored the third in the 47th minute off a defensive lapse by the opponent. Sivagangai reduced the margin in the 68th minute. Manikandan floated the ball inside the box off a flag kick and Pandi Ganesh headed home nicely. Viswanathan completed the tally for Thiruvallur with a superb goal by solo effort in the 75th minute.

In another first round match, a goal scored by Sankar in the 71st minute, helped Kanchipuram defeat Tuticorin 1-0.

Easy for Sax Memorial

Sax Memorial Basketball Club, Dindigul beat Young Bulls Basketball Club, Thanjavur 81-45 in the 28th annual Irulappan memorial trophy State-level basketball tournament conducted by Young Stars Basketball club at Batlagundu on Friday.

The results: Sax Memorial B.C 81 (Gopal 26, Bhaskar 18, Deepak 11) bt Young Bulls B.C 45 (Rajasekaran 17, Karthik 13); M.S.P.Solai Nadar B.C, Dindigul 48 (Sethu 12, Mohanlal 10) bt Vaigai B.C. Kottur 8; Silver Jubilee Club, Periakulam 57 (Saravanan 19, Selvakani 13) bt Pattiveeran B.C 53 (Rajesh 23, Dinesh 15); Thirumangalam B.C 73 (Yaser Syed Ibrahim 36, Yasin 26) bt Young Tigers B.C, Thanjavur 64 (Sudhan 24, Hariram Prasad 18); Jazz B.C. Pattiveranpatti 60 (Ravi 30, Ramesh Babu 22) bt Meenakshi B.C. Madurai 49 (A.Ganesh 12, Balasubramanian 14).

Jamal Mohammed triumphs

At Coimbatore, Jamal Mohammed College (Tiruchi) scored a solitary goal win over host PSG College of Arts and Science and emerged champion of the 15th State-level inter-collegiate football tournament at the PSGCAS grounds here on Friday.

It was the host that dominated right through, but a costly lapse by Karthick Rajkumar in the final moments of the game sealed the fate of the team. Ramanan of Jamal Mohammed had broken open the PSG defence and Karthick, in a desperate bid to stop the forward, only guided the ball home.

National College in last four

At Tiruchi, Manachanallur Junior 'B' CC and National College CC have qualified for the semifinals in the R.K.V invitation cricket tournament defeating Pudukottai Recreation Club and R.K.V 'B' CC respectively here on Friday.

The scores: Manachanallur Junior 'B' CC 191 all out in 28 overs (V. Bupesh 59, Satish Babu five for 25) bt PRC 132 all out in 27.2 overs.

National College 148 all out in 27 overs (Mohan Babu 43, Venkatesh four for 43) bt R.K.V. 'B' CC 113 all out in 25.4 overs (Prakash 49 n.o).

Tiruchi team

The following players will represent the Tiruchi District at the Tamil Nadu State senior ball badminton championship to be held at Virudhunagar on January 14 and 15.

The team: K. Chandrasekar (OBBC, Srirangam), R. Desikan (OBBC), R. Shanmugasundaram (OBBC), S. Nagarajan (TNSTC), Mahesh (Jamal Mohammed College), Vinodh (Jamal Mohammed College), R.S. Rajesh Kumar (J.J. Engineering College), S. Akshay Kumar (Jayaram Engineering College), S. Prabhu (Jayaram Engineering College).

Deepa to lead

A. Deepa will lead the Tiruchi district team at the Zion Trophy State-level women's hockey tournament to be held at Dindigul on January 15 and 16.

The team: A. Deepa (captain), A. Jayalakshmi, M. Thuslim Banu, P. Lavanya, P. Maheswari, M. Kaveri Ranjitham, M. Sathiya, R. Mayildevi, B. Yoga, R. Hilda Sahayamary, R. Soumya, K. Pressila, Easwari, Dhanalakshmi. Coach: H. Simpson, Manager: K. Kavitha.

Recommended for you