Team Suman Sharma keeps winning

NEW DELHI: Team Suman Sharma looked well poised to live up to its `favourite' tag when it scored a second successive victory in the women's section of the Trial National basketball league at the NDMC Indoor Stadium here on Wednesday.

The 68-51 verdict against Team Prasanna J. now leaves Team Suman Sharma with the task of beating Team Aparna Ghosh on Thursday for the title. Led by the experienced Sheeba Magon, Team Suman Sharma dominated the first and third quarters while Team Prasanna tried to make a match of it in the other quarters.

Team Aparna huffed and puffed before overpowering a fighting Team Nandini Basappa 79-75. In fact, Team Nandini Basappa was looking for a three-pointer in the last minute to tie the score when rival skipper P. Anita converted two penalty throws and ensured her team's victory. Most of the hard work for Team Aparna came from Railway's Sofi Sam (25 points) and Chhattisgarh's Kawaljeet Kaur (16). For Team Nandini, Seema got good support from S. Deepa and Harminder Kaur.

In the men's section, Team Abbas Montassir had no trouble in brushing aside Team Ajmer Singh 95-63 for its second victory. The shooting skills of Karnataka's Sanjay Raj and Madhya Pradesh's Kuldeep Hardia turned it into a lop-sided contest. Team Abbas now plays Team Khushi Ram, which has lost both its matches, in the final league match.

The scores:

Men: Team Abbas Montassir 95 (Sanjay Raj 16, Kuldeep Hardia 14, Indra Vijay Singh 9, Vijobi Vakkachan 9) bt Team Ajmer Singh 63 (Srinivas Gowda 18, Nibin Joseph 11).

Team Ranbir Chopra 60 (Amit Parashar 16, Bobit Mathew 12) bt Team Khushi Ram 57 (Mandeep Singh 16, Roshan P. Thankachan 15, Hanuman Singh 12).

Women: Team Suman Sharma 68 (Sheeba 16, Anju Lakra 15) bt Team Prasanna J. 51 (Harpreet Kaur 14, Aakansha Singh 9, Savitha L. S. 9). Team Aparna Ghosh 79 (Sofi Sam 25, Kawaljeet Singh 16, Divya Singh 13) bt Team Nandini Basappa 75 (Seema Singh 24, S. Deepa 16, Harminder Kaur 11). — Special Correspondent

Recommended for you