Sprint double for Archana; Jinson triumphs on his comeback

March 28, 2023 12:00 am | Updated 05:43 am IST - Thiruvananthapuram

Sizzlers:Jinson and Archana stole the show.

Sizzlers:Jinson and Archana stole the show.

Jinson Johnson showed no signs of rustiness in his first competitive race in nearly a year as he comfortably won the men’s 1500m in the Indian Grand Prix-2 at the LNCPE, Kariyavattom here on Monday.

Jinson ran a perfectly paced race to clock 3:44.52s. Jinson stalked Rahul, who set the early pace, for major part of the race and took the lead at the curve and pulled away to finish 10 metres ahead of others. Jinson, who had set a target of 3.45s, for the event was pleased with his performance.

Mohammed Anas, who is also on a comeback trail, strode comfortably to win the men’s 200m in 21.54s. Hassan Saaid (Maldives), who gave an initial fight to Anas, faded away at the finish and came second in 21.61s.

Archana Suseendran hogged the limelight in the women’s section by completing the double. Archana won the 100m in 11.53s after beating Hima Das (11.74s) in a close race. However, Archana had it easy in 200m as Hima Das was disqualified for a foul start. Archana won the race comfortably in 23.21s.

The results:

Men: 100m: 1. Sanjeet (Har) 10.65s, 2. Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odi) 10.66, 3. Hassan Saaid (Mal) 10.76; 200m: 1. Mohammed Anas (Ker) 21.54s, 2. Hassan Saaid (Mal) 21.61, 3. S.K. Kaven (TN) 21.63.

400m: 1. Mohammed Ajmal (Ker) 46.65s, 2. V. Nihal Joel (Kar) 47.24, 3. Rahul Ramesh Kadam (Mah) 47.26.

1500m: 1. Jinson Johnson (Ker) 3.44.53s, 2. Rahul (Del) 3:47.80, 3. Prakash Babu (Mah) 3:48.57; 3000m steeplechase: 1. Balkishan (Har) 8:39.84s, 2. Atul Poonia (Raj) 8:42.51s, 3. Sunil Jinabhai (Guj) 8:50.68s; 10,000m: 1. Jagat Singh Gurjar (Del) 30:33.83s, 2. Kiran Maire (Mah) 30:33.14s, 3. Preetam Kumar (Del) 30:35.57s; Long jump: 1. Nirmal Sabu (Ker) 7.72m, 2. K.M. Sreekanth (Ker) 7.28m, 3. Aditya Kumar Singh (MP) 7.26m; Triple jump: 1. Eldhose Paul (Ker) 16.27m, 2. U. Karthik (Ker) 15.80, 3. Abdulla Aboobacker (Ker) 15.77; Shot put: 1. Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Pun) 19.76m, 2. Karanveer Singh (Pun) 19.17, 3. Sahib Singh (Pun) 19.07.

Women: 100m: 1. Archana Suseendran (TN) 11.52s; 2. Hima Das (Asm) 11.74, 3. Dhaneshwari (Kar) 11.80; 200m: 1. Archana Suseendran (TN) 23.21s, 2. Daneshwari (Kar) 24.13, 3. R. Anu (Ker) 24.33; 400m: 1. Jyothika Sri (AP) 53.36s, 2. Aishwarya Kailash (Mah) 54.09, 3. Subha Venkatesan (TN) 54.61; 1500m: 1. Chandana (Del) 4:20.81s, 32. Ankita (Jhar) 4;22.07s, 3. K.M. Disha (MP) 4:27.33.

100m hurdles: 1. Pranjali Dilip Patil (Mah) 13.84s, 2. Unnathi Bollanda (Kar) 13.96, 3. Sowmya Murugan (AP) 14.45; Triple jump: Nayana James (Ker) 13.22m; 2. Gayathri Sivakumar (Ker) 13.19, 3. Renu (Har) 12.83; Pole vault: 1. Malavika Ramesh (Ker) 3.10m, 2. Nagamme Baje (Ker) 3.00; 3. Chinchumol Mathew (Ker) 2.90; Hammer: 1. Rekha (Jhar) 53 75m, 2. K.M. Fatma (UP) 50.04, 3. Kessia Mariam Benny (Ker) 48.91.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.