Saurashtra wins

Nagpur: Saurashtra defeated Andhra Pradesh by 55 runs in the final of the plate group Cooch Behar Trophy cricket tournament, 64 minutes after lunch on the fourth and final day played at VCA stadium here on Thursday.

Andhra resumed play at 32 for two and struggled right through the morning session against the pace-spin combination of Kuldeep Sharma (four for 49) and Ravindra Jadeja (three for 40) and was reduced to 105 for six at lunch.

The post lunch session too did not show any change as the Andhra batting capitulated with the addition of 31 more runs, to be shot out for 136 off 71.4 overs. Middle order batsman B Sumanth (40) was the lone batsman to offer some semblance of resistance.

In the tie for third place, Madhya Pradesh crushed Gujarat by an innings and 139 runs. Gujarat, commencing at 52 for three was all out for 187 with batsman Sakata Prasad not batting following injury.

The scores: final: Saurashtra 284 and 120 bt Andhra Pradesh 193 and 136 in 71.4 overs (B. Sumanth 40, Kuldeep Sharma four for 49, Ravindra Jadeja three for 40).

Third place: Gujarat 184 and 187 in 84.4 overs (M. Makwana 67, T. Brambhatt 54, M. Jagdale five for 78, A. Ali four for 59) lost to Madhya Pradesh 510. — UNI

Recommended for you