Ravi Kumar and Laxman score hat-tricks

HYDERABAD: Thanks to hat-tricks by Ravi Kumar and Laxman, BHEL (Ramachandrapuram) scored an 8-3 win over Youth Association in the A-1 Division hockey league championship match at Begumpet Police Stadium here on Friday.

Youth Association's wingers Sai Kumar and Santosh struck once each in the eighth and 15th minutes of first-half. But BHEL reduced the margin before the break through A. Ravi Kumar, who scored the first of his four goals.

In the second half Ravi Kumar scored three more goals and Laxman also struck four times for BHEL. Though Youth League scored its third goal through a penalty-corner by veteran Alphonse Lazarus, it was too late to change the course of the match for Youth outfit.

Bolarum, FUC in semifinal

Bolarum scored a 4-3 win (via tie-breaker) over J.J. Nagar in the quarterfinal of the Sudhakar memorial (under-16) football tournament. A self-goal by Satish of Bolarum, who in his anxiety to clear the ball to safety, kicked the ball into the goal. But, his team scored the equaliser through Nawaz who converted a spot kick in the second session. In the tie-breaker, Satish, Irfan and Seashaiah scored for winner while only Jude and Christopher were successful for the losers.

In another quarterfinal, Friends United Club also recorded a 4-3 win against Kamalanehru Nagar via tie-breaker after the teams were locked goalless at the end of regulation time. Suraj, Pavithran, Edwin and Roger B.Harry scored for FUC while, Bunty, Kapil and Kamalahasan for the losers.

B.V. Raju ITS in semifinal

Dr. B.V. Raju ITS, Medak, scored a nine-wicket win against Adishankar Engineering College, Nellore, in the quarterfinal of the fourth S.R.Champions Cup inter-engineering colleges cricket tournament at Hanmakonda today, according to information received here.

The scores: Quarterfinals: TKR Engg College, Hyderabad, 170 for four (P. Kalyan Rao 91 not out) bt Syed Hashim College of Science & Technology, Medak, 121.

Adishankar Engg College, Nellore, 89 (Sri Charan five for 11) lost to Dr. B.V. Raju ITS, Medak, 91 for one (Pankaj 54 not out).

CBIT, Hyderabad, 126 (Ajay 49) lost to Vidya Jyothi, Hyderabad, 127 for nine (Aditya 48).

MIC Engg College, Kanchikacharla, 147 for seven bt Thirumal Engg College, Bogaram, 147 for six (Praneeth 78). By spin of coin.

Chattisgarh scores two wins

Chattisgarh boys recorded two wins in the league phase of the 51st National school games netball championship at Little Flower College here.

The results: Boys: Chattisgarh bt UP 20-19; Assam bt Madhya Pradesh 23-16; AP bt Manipur 27-21; Punjab bt Chandigarh 24-7; Karnataka bt MP 27-18; Chattisgarh bt Tamil Nadu 27-16; Assam bt Karnataka 26-25. Girls: Karnataka bt Punjab 21-15; MP bt Chandigarh 20-12; Chandigarh bt MP 15-11.

Coaching camp

YMCA of Greater Hyderabad and YMCA Secunderabad will be organising special coaching camp from February 1 for boys and girls in basketball, skating, judo, table tennis and chess. Those interested to join, can contact the concerned at the above YMCAs for further particulars.

State Open chess

Khammam District Chess Association will organise State open prize money tournament from January 20 to 22 at Sequel Resorts with a prize money of Rs. 20,000 with the winner getting Rs. 5000. Special prizes will be given in the age groups of under-10, 12, 14 for boys and girls. All FIDE rules will be in force and further particulars can be had on Phone Nos. 93993 28597 or 98855 43643 or 98867 02431.

APOA chief says track will be safe

Lagadapati Rajagopal, MP and president of AP Olympic Association, who inspected the GMC Balayogi Stadium at Swarnandhra Pradesh Sports Complex (Gachibowli), venue of the AICC plenary in the third week of this month, on Friday, expressed confidence that no damage would be done to the synthetic track. "Every effort was taken by the top officials of State Government to ensure that no damage of any sorts will be there for the track. We were told that all necessary precautions were taken to ensure this," he said in a statement here.

Shivraj to lead

Shivraj Odnel will lead Osmania University will lead the swimming team to take part in the all-India inter-varsity championship to be held in Thiruvananthapuram from January 16.

The teams: Men: Shivraj Odnel (capt), M.Santosh Chary, D.Sharath, N.Sharath, C.Maruthi Krishna, K.Narender Reddy and Shivesh Sharma. Women: Amritha Pandit, Vinisha Sharma, Anisha Koti and Praneetha. Coach:S.Giridhar Rao. Manager: Farooq Kamal.

AP baseball teams

Andhra Pradesh Baseball Association has named the teams to take part in the 20th Senior nationals to be held in Cuttack from January 15.

The teams: Men: Yesudas Joseph (capt), Nitin Lamge, C.H. Rohit, N. Amrit Yadav, C.H. Shashikanth, Amjad, C.P. Rakesh, Abhinay, Yakub, Srinivas, Masood Ali, Iqbal, K. Arun Kumar, Santosh, Rajmanohar and Satish. Women: B. Vinila (capt), T. Manjula, Huma, Divya, S.S. Sharon, Anvitha Patalay, Srinidhi Raghavan, Sapna, Anitha, Shaheen, Banitha, Jyothi, Priyanka, Deepika, Sania and Lalitha. Coach: Kalyan Singh. Managers: C.V.Pratap & Sai Giridhar.

Recommended for you