Preeti to lead India-A women

Hockey India on Tuesday announced an 18-member India-A women’s team to participate in the Australian Hockey League 2017, which starts on September 28.

The team will be captained by forward Preeti Dubey while Udita will shoulder the responsibility of vice captain.

The team consists of goalkeepers Divya Thepe and Bichu Devi Kharibam, while Neelu Dadiya, Ashmita Barla, Priyanka, Suman Devi Thoudam and Salima Tete will be given the defensive duties.

Udita, Ishika Choudhary, Mahima Choudhary, Gagandeep Kaur, Nilanjali Rai and Mariana Kujur will be vying for the midfield spots in the team.

Captain Dubey, Sangita Kumari, Jyoti, Navpreet Kaur and Mumtaz Khan will form the forward line. It will be the first time that the India-A women’s team will take part in the Australian Hockey League (Women).

Ten teams, will include defending champions Queensland, Victoria, Northern Territory, South Australia, Western Australia, New South Wales, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory, New Zealand Development and India-A team, have been divided into two pools.