Parthiv guides West to victory

G. Viswanath

Ahmedabad: Parthiv Patel played his part with the bat to guide West Zone to a five-wicket win in the Duleep Trophy final against East Zone at the Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, here on Monday. The plucky Parthiv, who finished with 20 dismissals behind the stumps in three matches in the inter-zonal event, walked out when West was 109 for five.

He went on to dash East's hopes of winning the Duleep Trophy for the first time in 45 years with an unbeaten 39, embellished with half-a-dozen rousing shots to the fence.

Parthiv and the old firm of Jacob Martin (52 not out, 205m, 135b, 7x4) put on 66 for the sixth wicket to take West to its target of 175.

West clinched the title for the 16th time and a cash prize of Rs. five lakhs.

Paul strikes

When West began its chase, it was driven to despair by Shib Shankar Paul. The lanky seamer got rid of opener Dheeraj Jadhav and struck a bigger blow when he forced Wasim Jaffer to nick a delivery that seamed off the pitch and had extra bounce.

Ramesh Powar, sent in ahead of the two Patels — Niraj and Parthiv — to upset Paul's rhythm, made a useful 38 before sending a skier to S.S. Das. Niraj Patel was caught behind, a decision he was not happy with. At 109 for five, East had reasons to believe that it was still in the game but Parthiv sealed its fate with a sparkling knock.

Earlier, Sairaj Bahutule struck off the 19th ball of the day, winning a leg-before appeal against Ranadeb Bose.

The Secretary of the Gujarat Cricket Association, Vikram Patel, gave away the Duleep Trophy to Sairaj Bahutule and Zaheer Khan, while the Reliance Industries vice-president Pinakin Dikshit presented the V.J. Divecha Trophy to Ganguly and L.R. Shukla.

"I told my boys that I have kept my record of losing the finals intact. I don't know why the matches get over in three days. It was a good wicket, but not as flat as it was expected to be. I have been playing well. It's up to the national selectors to decide,'' said Ganguly when asked about his chances of playing for India again.

The scores:

East Zone — 1st innings: 150.

West Zone — 1st innings: 157.

East Zone — 2nd innings: A. Das c P. Patel b Zaheer 0, S.S. Das c Christian b Zaheer 13, Vasanth Saravanan (run out) 11, R. Gavaskar c P. Patel b R. Patel 13, S. Ganguly lbw b Zaheer 0, D. Dasgupta c Bahutule b Powar 61, L.R. Shukla st. P. Patel b Bahutule 66, S. Lahiri b Zaheer 0, S. Nadeem st. P. Patel b Bahutule 5, R. Bose lbw b Bahutule 4, S.S. Paul (not out) 0; Extras (lb-4, nb-4) 8; Total (in 59.1 overs) 181.

Fall of wickets: 0-1, 2-23, 3-35, 4-35, 5-39, 6-159, 7-160, 8-176, 9-176.

West bowling: Zaheer 17-3-41-4, R. Patel 7-1-35-1, Bahutule 18.1-5-39-3, M. Patel 11-2-27-0, Powar 6-0-35-1.

West Zone — 2nd innings: A. Christian (run out) 5, D. Jadhav lbw b Paul 11, W. Jaffer c Dasgupta b Paul 16, J. Martin (not out) 52, R. Powar c S.S. Das b Nadeem 38, N. Patel c Dasgupta b Lahiri 4, P. Patel (not out) 39; Extras (lb-8, nb-1, w-1) 10; Total (for five wkts. in 58.3 overs) 175.

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-28, 3-35, 4-103, 5-109.

East bowling: Paul 14.3-3-38-2, Bose 7-2-21-0, Ganguly 11-3-28-0, Nadeem 14-1-51-1, Lahiri 12-2-29-1.

Recommended for you