Parsvnath International Open from Oct. 2

NEW DELHI SEPT. 26. Come October and Delhi will witness the country's biggest open chess spectacle of the year.

When the inaugural edition of the Parsvnath International Open chess tournament commences here on October 2, some of the best players of the country be tested by some seasoned names from Russia, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Moldova and Scotland, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka.

The event, which offers Rs. three lakh in prize-money, with the winner's purse being Rs. one lakh, will be held at the Babu Samaj Sewa Kendra, Panchkuian Road, until October 10.

Addressing mediapersons here on Friday, the organising secretary Bharat Singh Chauhan said the tournament had attracted over 200 players, including 12 Grandmasters, 21 International Masters, two Woman Grandmasters and three Woman International Masters besides 100 other rated players.

What makes this event the most competitive in recent times is the presence of 39 titled-players.

Sponsored by Parsvnath Developers, on whose behalf Mr. Pradeep Jain spoke to the media, the event hosted by Delhi Chess Accociation is being supported by LNJ Bhilwara Group of Industries, New Delhi Municipal Council, Godrej, Reliance Infocom, Triveni Engineering, among others.

Commonwealth champion Dibyendu Barua, British champion Abhijit Kunte, young guns P. Hari Krishna and the reigning Asian champion Koneru Humpy, besides a fast-maturing Surya Sekhar Ganguly are the Indian GMs who have confirmed their participation.

The overseas Grandmasters will be headed by the 23-year-old top seed Dmitry Svetushkin (Moldova). Others are the experienced Alexander Fominyh (Russia), Sergie Ovestivitij (Ukraine), Marat Dzhumaev, Saidali Iuldashev (Uzbekistan), Jonathan Rawson (Scotland) and Niaz Murshed (Bangladesh).

The long list of International Masters is headed by Uzbek Tair Vakhidov, a familiar face on the Indian circuit in the past couple of years, followed by an in-form R. B. Ramesh. Both have two GM-norms each. Other Indian IMs in the fray are, S. Kidambi, S. Satyapragyan, P. Konguvel, N. Sudhakar Bau, Varugeese Koshy, Neeraj Mishra, V. Saravanan, Sriram Jha, Lanka Ravi, T. S. Ravi, Prathamesh Mokal, Poobesh Anand, Dinesh Sharma, Rotkim Bandopadhyay, Anup Deshmukh, Atanu Lahiri, Chandrasekhar Gokhale, Neelotpal Das and Rahul Shetty.

Among the ladies, Aarthie Ramaswamy and Nisha Mohota are the two WGMs from the country. They will be joined by Tania Sachdev, Saheli Dhar Barua, Anupama Gokhale and Bangladesh's Rani Hamid. All in all, the championship promises plenty of thrills.

Recommended for you