Pakistan's Ehsan Mani to head ICC next

LONDON JULY 3 . Ehsan Mani of Pakistan is set to become the next President of the International Cricket Council.

Mani, who represented Pakistan at the ICC since 1989, was formally installed as Vice President of ICC at its annual conference here last week, paving the way for him to succeed Malcolm Gray in 12 months time. He will have a two-year term in office.

``I was honoured on behalf of Pakistan cricket to be nominated for this prestigious position and delighted to be formally installed as Malcolm Gray's successor at last week's Annual Conference.

``I already enjoy a close working relationship with Malcolm, fellow Directors and Chief Executive Officer Malcolm Speed and look forward to the next 12 months and the build up to my own term in office,'' Mani said last night.

Mani, a Chartered Accountant by profession, became a director of ICC in 1996 when he took the chair of the ICC Finance and Marketing Committee, a position he held until last week, when the committee was dissolved.

Mani has served on a number of ICC Committees, including the Chairman's Advisory Committee, set up to advise Lord Cowdrey and Sir Clyde Walcott during their tenures.

He also worked on the Rules Review Committee and the Governance and Organisation Committee. His paper on the sharing of World Cup revenues between the host and member countries had a major impact on the financial arrangements of the ICC and its members.

Mani was also a member of the organising committee for the 1996 ICC World Cup in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka and has served on the Asian Cricket Council.

He is on the Board of a number of UK companies, which include banking and real estate. Mani's financial expertise was used to good effect when playing a major role in the sale of ICC media rights in 2000, negotiations which achieved a guaranteed income of 550 million dollars for international cricket, up to and including the 2007 World Cup.

He will follow a notable line of former ICC Chairmen and Presidents, which includes the late Lord Cowdrey, Sir Clyde Walcott of the West Indies, Jagmohan Dalmiya of India and Malcolm Gray of Australia.


Recommended for you