Northern Railway in semifinals

BANGALORE, JULY 24. The defending champion, Northern Railway, stormed into the semifinals of the men's team event with a 3-0 victory over South Eastern Railway in the 52nd all-India inter-Railway badminton championship at the Canara Union courts here on Saturday.

Sachin Ratti, shrugged off a sluggish start to beat Debanjan Majumdar 15-8, 15-0 in the opening singles while Mayank Behl drubbed R.M.Ghosh 15-0, 15-5 to give Northern Railway a 2-0 lead. Jai Singh and Hemant Duggal then wrapped up the issue for Northern Railway with a 15-4, 15-0 win over Majumdar and Chandrashekar.

The other teams to make last four round were South Central, which beat SECR 3-0, Western Railway which beat North Eastern Railway 3-0 and Central Railway, a 3-0 winner over Eastern Railway.

The results (quarterfinals): Men's team event:

Northern Railway bt South Eastern Railway 3-0 (Sachin Ratti bt Debanjan Majumdar 15-8, 15-0; Mayank Behl bt R.M. Ghosh 15-0, 15-5; Jai Singh/Hemant Duggal bt D. Majumdar/Chandrashekar 15-4,15-0).

South Central Railway bt South Eastern Central Railway 3-0 (A. Prithvi bt Ajay Dayal 15-0, 15-8; C.M. Sashidhar bt Jibi Varghese 15-3, 15-7; Prithvi/Nagaraj bt Jibi Varghese/Radhakrishna 15-2, 15-4).

Western Railway bt North Eastern Railway 3-0 (Mayur Ghatnekar bt T.S. Bisht 15-4, 15-12; Himanshu Thakkar bt Mohd Khalid 15-6, 15-5; Srikanth Bakshi/Tarun Chauhan bt T.S. Bisht/D.B. Thapa 15-13,15-6).

Central Railway bt Eastern Railway 3-0 (Sanket Shetty bt Bijoy De 15-3,15-2; Mangrish Palekar bt Arup Baidya 15-6, 3-15, 15-10; Amrish Shinde/Mangrish Palekar bt Arup Baidya/A. Mukherjee 17-15, 15-0).

Open events:

Veteran's singles (quarterfinals): Rakesh Kochar (DLW) bt G.R. Bhugra (RDSO) 15-10, 15-1; Sumit Saxena (NCR) bt Tarun Kumar (SCR) 15-6, 15-9; R.K. Batra (NR) bt V.K. Sobhit (RDSO) 15-9, 10-15, 15-12. Doubles (quarterfinals): R.K. Batra/R. Kochar (DLW) bt G.P Kosta/V. Patil (SWR) 15-1, 15-1; Tarun Kumar/B.V. Rao (SCR) bt G.R. Bhogra/A. Atul (RDSO) 15-2, 15-2; Shankwar/A.K. Sengupta (MFR) bt Sumit Saxena/Shakil (NCR) 15-9,15-12.

Recommended for you