Maiden crown for Shivnath Nagesia

Jharkhand's Dola Banerjee (left) and Shivnath Nagesia of Uttar Pradesh, the Olympic round individual champions in their respective sections of the 22nd senior National archery championship in Kolkata on Sunday.

Jharkhand's Dola Banerjee (left) and Shivnath Nagesia of Uttar Pradesh, the Olympic round individual champions in their respective sections of the 22nd senior National archery championship in Kolkata on Sunday.  

KOLKATA, DEC. 30. If Dola Banerjee stole the thunder in her backyard winning her third straight National title, for Shivnath Nagesia the moment of truth arrived. He won his maiden crown in the 22nd senior National archery championship that concluded at the Seven Tanks Estate, Cossipore, here on Sunday.

For Dola, the 21-year-old from Baranagar off Cossipore but under contract with the Tata Archery Academy (TAA), Jamshedpur, the success story began at the Shillong Nationals in 1999 where she won her first title. She retained it last year at Amravati and now here. Nagesia, the 20-year-old from Jharkhand, is a trainee at the SAI, Delhi. He turned out for Uttar Pradesh without having any connection with the now famous Gurukul Archery Academy of Meerut.

Dola annihilated her teammate and chief rival Chekrovolu Swuro, a Naga lady under contract with the TAA, in the final by 108 points to 102. Both tied at 25 points at the end of the one end of three arrows. From here, Dola steadily pulled away to establish two points lead in the second (53-51) and raised it to six (81-75) and maintained it till the fourth and final round to win at 108-102. Bansaralin Dhar, a lady from Shillong, Meghalaya, also under contract with the TAA, finished at the bronze position beating a fast improving Sujata Das of Bengal at 94-82.

Jharkhand retained the women's team title, beating Manipur at 219-201 in a one-sided contest. Earlier, Bengal took the bronze medal, defeating Uttar Pradesh.

Contrary to belief that armed force personnel possess nerves of steel, the Services archers finished at the silver position both in the Olympic round individual and the team final. Twenty three-year-old rifleman W. Ranjan Singh, a junior clerk posted at Shillong, was a bundle of nerves in the title-clash against Nagesia. At the end of the first round of three arrows, he trailed by four points (24-28), reduced the lead to three at the second (48-51) and conceded a seven-point lead in the third (77-70) and lost the contest at 95-101.

The final was first for both Imphal-born Manipuri Ranjan Singh and Nagesia. Defending champion Somai Murmu of Jharkhand lost to Ranjan Singh in the quarterfinals.

Prabhat Kumar of UP took the bronze, beating Olympian Lalrem Sanga of Jharkhand. Sanga was involved in two close finishes. Sanga beat Mangal Singh Champia of UP in a one-arrow shoot-off after both tied at 97 in the quarterfinals. Sanga shot a eight-pointer and Champia scored seven.

In the semifinals, Sanga went down to Nagesia, the ultimate winner, after both tied at 99-all. In the one-arrow shoot out, both hit a ten-pointer each forcing another round with one arrow each. In this Nagesia got a nine and Sanga earned eight.

In the team summit clash, the UP threesome of Kailash, Prabhat Kumar and Satyadev Prasad showed better temperament than its Services trio of Muni Ram Tirkey, Santosh Pradhan and Gurucharan Besra. At the end of the first round of nine arrows, UP lead 80-75 and in the next nine arrows it increased it by six (157-151) and in the last set of nine arrows by seven (233-226). Only Tirkey was consistent while Pradhan and Besra, a former TAA trainee, failed badly. UP, which last won the title in 1997, regained it after a gap of three years. For Services its maiden entry was in vain.

The results:

Men's Olympic round final: Shivnath Nagesia (UP) bt W. Ranjan Singh (Ser) 101-95.

For third place: Prabhat Kumar (UP) bt Lalrem Sanga (Jhar) 105-94.

Semifinals: Ranjan Singh bt Prabhat Kumar 109-107; Nagesia bt Sanga 99(10,9) - 99(10,8).

Quarterfinals: Ranjan Singh bt Somai Murmu (Jhar) 103-99; Prabhat Kumar bt Santosh Pradhan (Ser) 103-96; Sanga bt Mangal Singh Champia (UP) 97(8) - 97(7); Nagesia bt Rajesh Hansdak (Ori) 104-103.

Team final: Uttar Pradesh (Satyadev Prasad, Kailash Singh, Prabhat Kumar) 233 bt Services (Muniram Tirkey, Santosh Pradhan, Gurucharan Besra) 226. For third place: Rajasthan (Limba Ram, Lal Singh Ninama, Jayantilal Ninama) bt Orissa 217-212.

Semifinals: Services bt Rajasthan 234-216; UP bt Orissa 238-226.

Women's Olympic round final: Dola Banerjee (Jhar) bt Chekrovolu Swuro (Jhar) 108-102. For 3rd place: Bansaralin Dhar (Jhar) bt Sujata Das (Ben) 94-82. Semifinals: Chekrovolu bt Sujata 95-87; Dola bt Bansaralin 110-103.

Quarterfinals: Chekrovolu bt B. Angela Devi (Mani) 111-103; Sujata bt Keziegkunuo Thano (Jhar) 95-86; Bansaralin bt Jhanu Hansda 94-84; Dola bt Sunaina Sharma (Del) 96-82.

Team final: Jharkhand (Dola, Chekrovolu, Bansaralin) bt Manipur (B. Angela Devi, B. Girija Devi, Kh. Bhagyabati Chanu) 219-201.

For third place: Bengal (Sujata Das, Sangita Samanta, Rina Dutta Roy) bt UP 191-170.

Semifinals: Jharkhand bt UP 250-157; Manipur bt Bengal 212-207.

Recommended for you