Kulwinder, Hemalatha set meet marks

JAMSHEDPUR SEPT. 6. Despite intermittent rain posing problems, another dull day of action was enlivened some what by two record-breaking efforts on the third and penultimate day of the 43rd Senior National inter-state athletics championship at the J.R.D. Tata Sports Complex here on Saturday.

Decathlete Kulwinder Singh of Haryana improved upon one of the most disputed records of the meet by accumulating 7,218 points to better Anand Kumar of Uttar Pradesh's record of 6,680 points established at Hyderabad in 1994. National record-holder B. Hemalatha of Karnataka produced the best time in the 3,000m steeplechase for women clocking 11:05.90s. This event, introduced at the Hyderabad Federation Cup, held for the first time in the inter-state meet. Her Federation Cup time of 11:05.67 would be the National record.

The day also saw the disqualification of 20 km walk National and meet record-holder Gurdev Singh of Punjab for running. Sitaram Basat took the gold unchallenged in a poor time of 1:34:09.4s.

Manoj Lal wins 400m gold

K.J. Manoj Lal of Kerala gave his State first gold medal of the meet winning the men's 400m event. The 25-year-old one-lap expert blamed the rain for none-too-impressive performance in timing 46.44s.

Satti Geetha of Andhra Pradesh took the women's one-lap gold medal with a time of 54.40s. With Bengal's Pinky Pramanik making a tactical blunder by going flat out from the start, Geetha came through with powerful strides in the straight. Pinky, who improved the junior National record in the junior World meet, ended fifth. Sagardeep Kaur and Kalpana Reddy finished behind Geetha.

Suresh Babu's decathlon's record of 7,380 set in 1978 was listed as the meet record, while Vijay Singh Chauhan's 7,306 achieved at the Munich Olympics in 1972 as the National record. The reason, as knowledgeable put it, was mainly due to lack of information about the individual events from that meet that prevented a conversion being done on this score. Logically, if conversion was not possible for it to be listed as a National record, then how could this be an inter-state record?

In that case, the score of 6,680 of Anand Kumar of Uttar Pradesh achieved at Hyderabad in 1994 should be the record to be broken. Five consecutive Open National gold medallist Kulwinder Singh surpassed the mark by coming up a career best 7,218. Surprisingly, this 25-year-old Armyman could never take part in the inter-state meet earlier because of some meet or other in Army. His previous best was 7,140 which earned him the gold medal at the last Open National in New Delhi. He also attained the Asian Track and Field meet qualifying norm.

High hurdler Gurpreet Singh of Punjab came out of injury induced lay off for almost two seasons to win the gold in 14.40s. Two aborted starts owing to rain and lack of time and place to warm up, he was really bothered by the loss of concentration as well. Yet, he and Federation Cup champion Naunidh Singh of Punjab were locked at the finish leaving the rest behind. They were separated by the photo finish camera as the 21-year-old Punjab Police assistant sub-inspector, winner of three Open National since 1999, was declared the winner. Both clocked 14.40.

Wayne Peppin does TN proud

It was a good day for Tamil Nadu as well. Long jumper Wayne Peppin took the gold by hitting the sand at 7.90m relegating meet record holder and the only jumper to have crossed 8m other than T.C.Yohannan, Sanjay Rai of Bengal, to the bronze place. Maha Singh of Punjab took the silver medal. Kadayam Natrajan Priya, 20-year-old MBA student at the Vaishnav College, clocked 14.06s, her life best in the women's 100m hurdles. Basically a 100m runner, she pushed Bengal's Soma Biswas to the second place.

In the absence of Bobby Aloysius, Sahana Kumari of Karnataka took the high jump gold medal with an effort of 1.75m. Smooth approach and good technique were her strong points in a field that lacked class.

The results:

Men: 400m: 1. K.J. Manoj Lal (Ker) 46.44s, 2. Satbir Singh (Har) 47.00, 3. P. Shankar (AP) 47.23. 110m hurdles: 1. Gurpreet Singh (Pun) 14.40s, 2. Naunidh Singh (Pun) 14.40, 3. Krishna Mohan (AP) 14.83. 3,000m steeplechase: 1. Arun D'Souza (AP) 8:52.11s, 2. Ravi Ranjan (Jhar) 9:06.28, 3. Ram Bahadur (Del) 9:12.38. Long jump: 1. Wayne Peppin (TN) 7.90m, 2. Maha Singh (Pun) 7.68, 3. Sanjay Rai (Ben) 7.66. Discus: 1. Sukhbir Singh (Chd) 53.07m, 2. Gurusewak Singh (Pun) 52.98, 3. Haridayanand Singh (UP) 52.09. Javelin: 1. Jagdish Bishnoi (Pun) 71.67s, 2. Ranjit Kumar Maurya (UP) 68.86, 3. Rai Singh (Har) 68.61. Decathlon: 1. Kulwinder Singh (Har) 7,218 points, 2. Vinod P.J. (Jhar) 6,886, 3. Kamal Chauhan (Bih) 6,149. 4 x 100m relay: 1. Karnataka 40.81, Tamil Nadu 41.49, 3. Kerala 41.85. 20 km walk: 1. Sitaram Basat (Raj) 1:34:09s, 2. Gurmeet Singh (Pun) 1:35:35.1, 3. Vijay Kumar Gehlot (UP) 1:36:25.6.

Women: 400m: 1. Satti Geetha (AP) 54.40s, 2. Sagardeep Kaur (Pun) 54.76, 3. K. Kalpana Reddy (AP) 54.89. 100m hurdles: 1. K.N. Priya (TN) 14.06s, 2. Soma Biswas (Ben) 14.24, 3. Dipti Vaidia (Mah) 14.76. 3,000m steeplechase: 1. B. Hemalatha (Kar) 11:05.90s (NMR), 2. Vinita Thakar (Pun) 11:09.23, 3. Jaswinder Kaur (Del) 11:30.75. High jump: 1. Sahana Kumari (Kar) 1.75m, 2. Tessymol Joseph (Mah) 1.69, 3. Mallika Mondal (Ben) 1.66. Shot put: 1. Chaitali Paul (Ben) 14.41m, 2. Manmeet (UP) 12.66, 3. Bimmi Singh (Pun) 12.28. 4 x 100m relay: 1. Kerala 47.00s, 2. Andhra Pradesh 42.24, 3. Tamil Nadu 48.05.

Recommended for you