KCA to establish international stadium in Thiruvananthapuram

Special Correspondent

Two possible locations are Kazhakoottam and Kudapanakkunnu

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Kerala Cricket Association has decided to establish an international cricket stadium in Thiruvananthapuram with the cooperation of the State Government and the Capital Development Forum.

Announcing this and other decisions taken at the day-long meeting of the KCA's Central Council meeting here on Sunday, the KCA president, S. Karunakaran Nair said two possible locations to establish the stadium, with all modern amenities, have been identified and a proposal to get the required land on a long-term lease would be submitted to the Government soon. The identified sites were located in Kazhakoottamand Kudapanakkunnu, near to the proposed Collectorate.

Main objective

The proposal of the KCA having its own international stadium was also one of the main goals of its `Vision 2010' project. Further, given the enormous costs involved in the development of infrastructure and the establishment of the District Coaching Centres and two Rural Coaching Centres in each of the 14 districts in the State, the KCA has also decided to enhance its budgetary provision for the `Vision 2010' project to Rs. 7.5 crore from the proposed Rs. 5 crore.

It was also decided by the meeting to purchase a plot of 8.45 acres to develop a cricket stadium, suitable to host first class matches, near Sulthan Bathery .


The meeting also decided to award the KCA Golden Jubilee award for 2005-'06 to Robert Fernandez (seniors) and Mohammed Naseef (juniors) and the Col. Unni Nair endowment fund to Santu Jose.

The KCA, has also decided to constitute a welfare scheme for retired State cricketers with an initial contribution of Rs. 10 lakh. Similarly, the KCA subsidy for all-Kerala and all-India tournaments would be enhanced from Rs. 10,000 to Rs. 15,000 and from Rs. 15, 000 to Rs. 20,000 respectively.

About certain allegations made by S. Sreesanth, regarding his non-selection in a Ranji Trophy match in 2004 in an interview given to a leading Malayalam daily, Mr. Nair said the meeting had authorised him to discuss the issue with the Indian player. "As far as we are concerned, there is no need to revisit the whole issue once again. And we would like him not to rake up issues unnecessarily. However, since he has raised the issue, we would be definitely discussing this with him shortly."

KCA sub-committees for 2006-'07: Selection committees: Seniors, U-25 & U- 22: Philip M. Varghese (chairman), K. Krishna Kumar, R. Ram Mohan and S. Rajesh; U-19: M. Ranjith Thomas (chairman), S. Sunil Kumar, T.R. Sudeesh and M. Mohammed Afzal; U-17 & U-15: N.P. Sandeep (chairman), V. Kamaruddin, G. Sanjay Mohan and T.K. Nazir; U-13: T.C. Rajasekharan (chairman), D. Gopakumar, S. Manoj and Bobby George.

Finance: S. Ramachandran Nair (chairman), Haroon Rasheed, Karthik Varma and Sajan K. Varghese.

Marketing: M.V. Sreyams Kumar, MLA (chairman), Roy M. Mathew, Baby Thomas, B.M. Hegde, Jaffer Saith, K. Pradeep, K. Surendranath and K.P. Sathish Chandran.

Cricket Development: S.K. Nair (chairman), V. Manikanda Kurup, J.K. Mahendra, S. Ramesh, K.N. Raghavan, Philip M. Varghese, P. Balachandran, C.M. Ashok Sekhar, U. Subramaniam, V. Narayanan Kutty, D. Chandrasenan Nair and T.C. Mathew (convenor).

Technical: K. Ramachandran (chairman), K.G. Premjith, S. Ramachandran Nair, John Cherian, S. Jayan Nair and Jyothikumaran Nair.

Nets & Coaching: Babu Acharath (chairman), U. Manoj, K. Majeed, Igni Mathew, Abdul Rehman, Shukoor Cherkalam, Mathew P. Mani, Jayaraj and Santosh Kumar.

Legal: A.V. Thomas (chairman), Shaji P. Chali and K.K. Rajeev Punnapuram.

Curators: C. Sneharaj (chairman), P. V. Ramachandran and R. Anil Kumar.

Umpires: S.Dandapani (chairman), B. Ajith Kumar, R. Sreekumaran Nair, Sanal Kumaran Nair, C. Pradeep Kumar, P. Chandrasekharan and K. V. Sanil Chandran.

Scorers & Statisticians: S.N. Sudhir Aly, Krishna Dev and Aaron George Thomas.

Recommended for you