Karnataka bundled out for 186

BANGALORE: Mumbai attack, spearheaded by pacemen Avishkar Salvi (four for 26) and Swapnil Hazare (four for 47), bundled out Karnaraka, the host, for a paltry 186 runs on the opening day of the second round Ranji Trophy Elite Group A match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Thursday. Mumbai, at close, was one for no loss with debutant Sahil Kukreja (1) and Wasim Jaffer (0) at the crease.

Paul scalps six

Bengal medium-pacer Shiv Shankar Paul rocked Delhi, that chose to bat, with his six-wicket haul as the host was skittled out for 148 in its first innings of the Elite Group A match. At close, Bengal was 11 for two.

Gagandeep, Ishan strike

Punjab mediumpacers Gagandeep Singh (four for 37) and Ishan Malhatra (four for 78) bowled out Haryana, after electing to bat, for 232 in the first innings in the second round Elite Group `B' match at the PCA Stadium, Mohali.

The best partnership for Haryana came from Sachin Rana (49, 96b, 2x4, 1x6) and Amit Mishra 34 (65b, 5x4).

Uttar Pradesh, riding on twin half centuries by opener Rohit Prakash (71, 128b, 9x4) and Suresh Raina (75, 118b, 10x4), piled up 303 for six in the Elite Group B contest against Baroda at the Nehru Stadium, Kanpur.

Goud, Khanolkar bat well

A 122-run sixth-wicket stand between Yere Goud (71, 208b, 9x4) and Shreyas Khanolkar (78, 128b, 10x4) saved Railways the blushes as the defending champion managed to reach 237 for eight against Tamil Nadu in the Elite Group A clash in New Delhi.

Electing to bat, Railways was rattled by Tamil Nadu pace trio spearheaded by R Jesuraj (three for 63) who reduced the host to 42 for five in 17.1 overs.

The scores: Group `A':

Delhi 148 in 78.5 overs (Paul six for 25) v Bengal 11 for two in 8.4 overs, in New Delhi.

Maharashtra 204 for five in 90 overs (S. Bahutule 48 batting, S. Satbhai 41 batting) v Gujarat, at Ahmedabad.

Karnataka 186 in 86.4 overs (Tilak Naidu 51, B. Akhil 55, A. Salvi four for 26, S. Hazare four for 47) v Mumbai 1 for no loss in 1 over, at Bangalore.

Group `B':

Hyderabad 211 for five in 90 overs (Anirudh Singh 78, A.S. Yadav 69) v Andhra, at Anantapur.

Haryana 232 in 85.3 overs (S. Rana 49, Gagandeep Singh four for 37, I. Malhatra four for 78) v Punjab 0 for no loss in 2 overs, at Mohali.

UP 303 for six in 93 overs (R. Prakash 71, S. Raina 75, G.K. Pandey 48) v Baroda, at Kanpur.

Plate matches:

Madhya Pradesh 173 for seven in 101 overs (D. Bundela 47, S. Abbas Ali 63) v Assam, at Indore.

Rajasthan 302 for two in 90 overs (G. Khoda 138 batting, R. Kanwat 78, N. Doru 55 batting) vs. Jharkand, at Jaipur.

Goa 150 in 51.1 overs (P. Gandhe four for 68, M. Acharya four for 29) v Vidarbha 78 for one in 39 overs, at Nagpur.

Kerala 216 for six in 85 overs (Sadagopan Ramesh 50 batting) v J&K, at Jammu.

Saurashtra 182 for eight in 90 overs (Sagar Jogyani 57, Niranjan Behera four for 8) v Orissa, at Cuttack.

HP v Tripura, at Dharmashala. Play called off.