Indian lads crash out in second round

NEW DELHI OCT. 22. The Indian challenge wound up in singles, asSomdev Dev Varman and Jaco Mathew lost tamely in the pre-quarterfinals of the $10,000 ITF Futures tennis tournament in Colombo on Wednesday.

Wild card Somdev lost 1-6, 0-6 to the third-seeded Young-Joon Kim of Korea while qualifier Jaco Mathew lost 3-6, 0-6 to the seventh-seeded Boris Borgula of Slovakia.

In doubles, Ajay Ramaswami in partnership with Norikazu Sugiyama of Japan reached the quarterfinals with a 6-2, 6-1 victory over Joseph Hubr of austria and Roman Kutac of the Czech Republic.

The duo will meet Hendri-Susilo Pramono and Febi Widhiyanto of Indonesia, who ousted Ashutosh Singh and Punna Vishal 6-4, 6-3 in another first round encounter.

Somdev Dev Varman and Koji Motomura of Japan were entered in the qualifying event, but did not have to play a match to qualify, as all the four teams made the main draw. The Indo-Japanese team beat David Brewer and Steven Lockwood of Britain 6-0, 6-3 in the first round.

Tushar in third round

Tushar Liberhan made it to the third round in the ITF grade `II' junior tennis tournament at the Ramkhamhaeng University Complex, Bangkok.

The fifth-seeded Divij Sharan lost in three sets to Richard Wire of Britain in the second round after a bye in the first.

In the girls' section, Gayatri Krishnan made the main draw as a lucky-loser but lost to the top seed Yung-Jan Chan of Chinese Taipei. Ankita Bhambri suffered a shock defeat in a long-drawn three setter at the hands of Anastasia Poltoratskiy of Russia in the first round.

Madura Ranganathan, Punam Reddy and Pooja Kommireddi made it to the pre-quarterfinals, while a whole lot of Indian girls, including the national junior champion Sandhya Nagaraj, failed to cross the qualifying event.

The results — Boys (second round): Tushar Liberhan bt Huai-En Chang (Tpe) 6-3, 6-4; Richard Wire (GBR) bt Divij Sharan 2-6, 7-6 (7-5), 6-2; Dominic Muller (Ger) bt Jitin Bishnoi 6-3, 6-2. First round: Jitin Bishnoi bt Alexander Petropoulos (Aus) 6-3, 6-4.

Qualifying event (third round): Takanobu Fujii (Jpn) bt Kaushik Raju 6-4, 6-4; Jitin Bishnoi bt Stanley Sarapnich (Tha) 7-5, 6-2. Second round: Kaushik Raju bt Yao-Cheng Wang (Tpe) 6-3, 6-4; Jitin Bishnoi bt Kelsey Stevenson (Can) 6-0, 6-1. First round: Kaushik Raju bt Piyaporn Klomklew (Tha) 7-5, 6-1.

Doubles (first round): Philipp Piyamongkol (Ger) and Natapong Pongkunsub (Tha) bt Ting-Lung Chang Chen (Tpe) and Kaushik Raju 6-2, 6-2; Andrew Coelho (Aus) and Tushar Liberhan bt Dominic Muller and Peter Hendrik Wilk (Ger) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2.

Girls (first round): Yung-Jan Chan (Tpe) bt Gayatri Krishnan 6-2, 6-0; Nungnudda Wannasuk (Tha) bt Vandana Murali 6-4, 6-0; Jessica Engels (Aus) bt Kartiki Bhat 6-3, 6-4; Madura Ranganathan bt Anja-Vanessa Peter (Ger) 6-2, 6-4; Anastasia Poltoratskiy (Rus) bt Ankita Bhambri 7-6 (9-7), 4-6, 6-4; S. Punam Reddy bt Penporn Chantawannop (Tha) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3; Pooja Kommireddi bt Joana Febri (Ina) 6-3, 6-0.

Qualifying event (third round): Natalie Solevski (Aus) bt Gayatri Krishnan 6-4, 6-2. Second round: Gayatri Krishnan bt Alexandra Tananihina (Rus) 6-4, 6-7 (2-7), 10-7; K. Gira Schofield (US) bt Sandhya Nagaraj 6-2, 6-2. First round: Gayatri Krishnan bt Natnicha Triratana Won (Tha) 7-5, 6-3; Karnonthip Saovana (Tha) bt Amoolya Raghunath 6-0, 6-2; Janjira Kongwatana (Tha) bt Asha Nandakumar 4-6, 6-3, 12-10; K. Gira Schofield bt Varsha Shivshankar 7-5, 6-0; Sandhya Nagaraj bt Sasirin Bowornchokch (Tha) 6-1, 6-7 (6-8), 10-5.

Doubles (first round): Kartiki Bhat and Pooja Kommireddi bt Penporn Chantawannop and Sophia Mulsap (Tha) 6-2, 6-3.

Recommended for you